Is my HDD broke? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2008, 02:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Is my HDD broke?

Well, I just built my first computer and decided to go with Windows Vista Home Premium x64. I was having all sorts of weird problems, and I just attributed them to Windows Vista bugs.

After looking into it more, the problem seemed to be with my hard drive. A couple of times the computer would BSOD on startup, and when I went to do a repair installation, it didn't detect any hard drive!

So I finally was able to run Check Disk, and there was 100-200 files that were in 'bad clusters' or something like that.

Windows Sidebar also just doesn't work, for no apparent reason.

Should I RMA my 7200.11 500GB Seagate drive?
__________________

__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Is my HDD broke?

that's not a brand new hd bought just for the Vista install?

are your bios settings at factory default? maybe reset it to that...then go back and disable all functionality you don't use.

possible fixes for sidebar culled from me searching:
Live Search: windows sidebar doesn

---
1. Open a command prompt by being Administrator (Right click on Command Prompt and click Run as Administrator)
2. CD to C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar ( cd drive letter:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar )
3. Run these commands in this order:
1. regsvr32 -u sbdrop.dll
2. regsvr32 -u wlsrvc.dll
3. regsvr32 atl.dll
4. regsvr32 sbdrop.dll
5. regsvr32 wlsrvc.dll

---
1. Open a command prompt by going to Start/all programs/accessories/ and right clicking on the icon - select 'run as administrator.

2. When the command window opens type:
regsvr32 scrrun.dll
and press the enter key

3. Now type
regsvr32 jscript.dll
and press the enter key

4. Now type
regsvr32 msxml3.dll
and press the enter key.

Now restart your machine

If that's a brand new harddrive and the above bios reset doesn't do it for you, then might be a bad hd

edit: did a search to see what I could find to check hds...I am trying this now on this computer, XP machine. Will take it home and test on vista too:
HD Tune
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Is my HDD broke?

Well, your first method fixed my side bar.

... and I'm actually not having any more weird problems, or at least nothing to make me suspect the hard drive.

Though, I did download SeaTools for DOS from the official Seagate site and ran the diagnostic on my hard drive. My hard drive had like 50ish bad sectors. It repaired the sectors and then gave me a "PASS after repair" result... but if I run the diagnostic again it detects that the same 50ish sectors are bad.

So they aren't actually being repaired... I don't know what it is dong to them when it repairs them.

*sigh*

Now I'm not sure what to do... I really don't want to keep a drive that could give me problems in a month... however, I've never RMA'ed something across the internet. Sounds troublesome...

What should I do!?
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 03:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Is my HDD broke?

i tested out hdtune...give that a go, might work better for you...though that thing takes forever, but I think it looks at every piece on your harddrive

you can do a quicky with it too

edit: oh and your rma should go fine...just make sure you follow their steps. Some companies are so anal if you miss a step. I think you call in/email first to get the authorization claim number...and go from there. I don't have to do that much, lucky me
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 08:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Is my HDD broke?

Well, that thing ran for 1hr 45min, and gave me all green with a 0.0% damaged areas.

I suppose I'll keep my drive and see what happens. Thanks for the help.
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
How to install HDD image onto new HDD smurph Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-09-2007 01:43 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.