My first CPU build, input anyone? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2008, 12:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default My first CPU build, input anyone?

I posted a thread a couple of days ago about a graphics card update, only to find myself asking more and more about compatability issues..so I figured that I might as well build myself a new computer so I do not have to worry about that! My resources lay in Panama, and there is but one good store here that carries decent products consistantly. I will list, please please give me some input or suggestions on if I have a good idea of what I am trying out as far as compatibility and performance! I am also going for something that doesn't empty my wallet completely haha.

Case: Thermaltake Matrix VD2000BNS
Mobo: Biostar GF8200
Power: Cooler Master eXtreme Power 500W , not sure if I need more power?
Processer: two choices because I am not sure if the $100 difference for the phenom is worth it? AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ 3.2GHz (Windsor) or AMD Phenom 9950 2.6GHz (Black Edition)
Graphics card: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4850
Cooling: Thermaltake MaxOrb
I already have some starter memory (1x 2gb SDDR2 667MHZ), hard drive (Seagate 160gb), and disc drive (Samsung DVDR, CDR etc)
price for CPU with AMD x2 6400+ 3.2GHZ processor: $631.90
price for CPU with AMD Phenom 9950 2.6GHZ processor: $719.40

So what do you guys think for a newbie builder??
__________________

james.wired is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

You gonna do any mods to that case?
__________________

Valdeam is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

to be completely honest and noobish:laughing: I'm not sure what sort of mods I could do to it...but probably not, I would rather spend the extra money for a different one but I just didn't want anything toooo crazy looking haha. Is the issue the size of the box? honest newbie here!!
james.wired is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 05:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

I do suggest getting E7300 or E8400 which are better gaming processors. You can also get Q6600 if you want quad core
maroon1 is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 08:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

E7300 = $120
E8400 = $160
Q6600 = $190

vs

X2 6000+ = $76
Phenom 9950 = $170

The Q6600 might be a better choice if overclocking was involved, but the AMD chips will bring it in a lot cheaper.

I have discovered that, outside of the performance circle here and other geek sites, most people cannot "see" the difference in speeds of the chips. A few frames per second are not noticeable to the unaided human eye.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 09:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

Actually q6600 can't clock for crap anymore

Try to find a 780g board and buy either a Phenom X3 or a Brisbane Athlon X2
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 11:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

Phenom 9950 outperforms the current batch of Q6600's and at a cheaper price.

While I still wouldn't touch the 9950 with Deneb coming out only a month away.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 08:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

great, thanks for all the input. I will see what I can find here in Panama!
james.wired is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 09:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Actually q6600 can't clock for crap anymore

Try to find a 780g board and buy either a Phenom X3 or a Brisbane Athlon X2
The tri cores use about 90W whilst the x2 and x4s normally come in around 65W so more expensive to go tri in the long term.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 03:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: My first CPU build, input anyone?

Some of the X4's consume 65 watts. Others like the 9650 and 9550 use 95. After the 9650 though every other chip is 125 Watts or higher.

Also Triple Cores don't offer enough performance increase to warrant the price. Get a decent X2 or X4 instead.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
New build problems McHopsky Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-28-2008 01:46 PM
Rosewill RCX-2775 CPU cooler. A diamond in the rough. Sora New Technology and Products 8 06-18-2008 04:01 PM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Calculated Build... Input appreciated. Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-14-2008 12:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.