My First Build(please help~) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2008, 07:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to ~Tofu~
Default My First Build(please help~)

well as i have mentioned earlier in the year I'm going to make my first computer woot woot~!
Here is my build-the money is in AUS
Seagate Barracuda ES ST3250620NS 250GB
$50
INTEL CORE i7 920 2.66GHz CPU
$300
Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333
$69
Asus ATI HD4830
$130
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-DS4
$245
Cooler Master 690
$115
COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power RP-550-PCAR 550W
$70
Linton DVD-RW
$21

These prices can be found on Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Now time for help.
I have heard that i would need the following things
-Thermo paste
-Anti Static strap

Would it be advised to by the case that comes with the power supply
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKR7-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 650W Power Supply - Computer Cases
($170)
or buy it separately

I am considering to partition my hard drive into 2 (100Gb for "C" and 150 for "E")is it again a good idea to buy two HD or just one would fine (just encase one fails).

This is also my first time using SATA HD i don't really know anything about it even though i read the Wiki version i still don't quite understand can someone please explain it. Like whats the difference between IDE and SATA

OMG the motherboard only supports DDR3
I don't really get the 1333 and 1066 thing...i have heard that it changes the overclocking adaptation.

Thanks for any comment and help. =D
__________________

~Tofu~ is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 08:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

ram speeds will be needed for overclocking.. if ur not gonna overclock.. ur fine with some ddr3 1333

don't look at dual channel kits (2x1gb) look for tri channel kits (3x1gb)

and partitioning a single hard drive should suit you just fine... i usually do the very same thing
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to ~Tofu~
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
ram speeds will be needed for overclocking.. if ur not gonna overclock.. ur fine with some ddr3 1333

don't look at dual channel kits (2x1gb) look for tri channel kits (3x1gb)

and partitioning a single hard drive should suit you just fine... i usually do the very same thing
hum...i see thanks but i don't think that i need that much ram since the only thing big i would be running now would be like BF2
~Tofu~ is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 04:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

yes but you will want to overclock and possbily run multiple gpu's (if not then why are you going with first gen I7?)
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

why would you not by 3x1 gb?!?!?! new 3x1 gb kits are cheap and all run 1600mhz at only 1.6v ..which should be turning into new jedec standard or something like that with 1600mhz sticks

it'd be plain dumb to go with dual channel when tri channel is on the table and offers much more bandwidth
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

nos is absolutely right... to take full advantage of DDR3 and the new i7 architecture, a triple channel kit is needed, so grab either the OCZ Gold PC3-12800 or G.Skill PC3-12800 3GB kit...

dont get a case that includes a PSU... they're generally unreliable as many manufacturers skimp on this side of things... so if you're gonna spend $70 on a PSU, get a Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

as for thermal paste, get some MX-2 or AS5, as they'll perform best
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

i believe tx2 is the new big thing
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to ~Tofu~
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
yes but you will want to overclock and possbily run multiple gpu's (if not then why are you going with first gen I7?)
I'm going for i7 not because of overclocking. It because of its new socket 1366
I'm planning to use this computer like for another i say 5~7 years. By then i think core 2 would be out of date and so would i7 be flashed out soon. Thats why i got the motherboard. This would help me change new CPUs when i need to. Because this is the start of the new model of 1366 right? I'm guessing intel won't replace this socket anytime soon

For the Ram yeah maybe i'll reconsider getting DD3 3GB
i mean its only another $10~$30 maximum to get another Gb

Thanks guys for the help so far =D appreciate it
~Tofu~ is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

not a problem.. and you have a valid point.. 775 has been around for a good while now..

you'll enjoy the i7.. i'm in love with mine
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to ~Tofu~
Default Re: My First Build(please help~)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BongWizard View Post
nos is absolutely right... to take full advantage of DDR3 and the new i7 architecture, a triple channel kit is needed, so grab either the OCZ Gold PC3-12800 or G.Skill PC3-12800 3GB kit...

dont get a case that includes a PSU... they're generally unreliable as many manufacturers skimp on this side of things... so if you're gonna spend $70 on a PSU, get a Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

as for thermal paste, get some MX-2 or AS5, as they'll perform best
hum...ok sorry about this but i just realized something are the power supplies needed for PCI-e graphic cards is different to the on for PCI graphic cards? Because right now i'm using a 7600 and it looks like theres a **** lot of a change from the one i'm using right now (O.O)
As for SLI and Cross fire ready i don't think i would be needing these. Since i'm not really a hard core gamer or anything i just want to so that it doesn't look like lego first person shooting.

and yeah thermo paste not a big difference right? so i guess i'll get the cheaper one AS5
__________________

~Tofu~ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.