My first build! Help me make it a good one :D

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jake2k

In Runtime
So like the title says this is my first build, I have a very basic knowledge of this stuff so I'm gonna need some help so I don't screw anything up haha. I'll be using this computer for art(Photoshop CS2, Cinema 4D, etc.), web browsing, and watching videos/listening to music plus I'm a big multi-tasker. I'm alright at putting them together but I need help picking out the right parts, I've picked out a few parts already so it's a start:

Mother Board/CPU - XFX MG-63MI-7109/Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180 Processor 2.0GHz

RAM - OCZ DFI Special Edition Dual Channel 1024MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory

HDD - Samsung HD502IJ SpinPoint F 500GB

Case - Cooler Master NV 690

Is this a good start? Thanks for any info :D

P.S. I don't want to spend any money on a graphics card since this ist gonna be a gaming rig

Use Newegg.

I would change your cpu to a q6600, since your a big multi tasker: Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Processors

Get at least 2 gig of ram, if not 4gig. It will help a lot with the multi tasking, and if your getting vista will make it perform better.

2gig: Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

4gig: Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Change the hard drive to: Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

Case is your choice.

You probably want a graphics card if your doing photoshop etc. You can get a cheap one that will help your computer a lot for $30-$50.

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100233L Radeon HD 3450 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards