My first build was finished, but... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 03:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

I hope he has a good manual that shows the power connectors on the mobo; especially the connector for the power/reset/leds.
These companies make nice boards, but then they put out inferior manuals.......
* It seems the P/S are very poor too........
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

take it all apart and start all over. I would recruit a friend who knows quite a bit about computer hardware
__________________

Shocker is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Did you plug it in?
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

These are my steps;

1.Put spacer into the case.

2.Put mobo corresponding to the holes where spacer lay down.

3.Put washer ( here they call, or O-ring which made from rubber or plastic and have a hole for put them into screw) into screw and put them into the mobo's holes.

4.Put the CPU + AS5 + Heatsink/Fan and plugged cable to CPUFan's connector.

5.Put 24 pins connector to mobo and 4 pins connector to ATX 12V power connector.(or they also connected on mobo before I put CPU I'm not sure, but I'm sure I didn't plugged Power cord or open it.).

6.Put ATA 100/133 cable to IDE1 and plugged the other side to my HD, including 4 pins from power supply. It empty.

7.Do the same 6 with Floppy disk and DVD Rom. I don't have SATA right now.

8.Plugged all remaining Fan's cable into 4 pins from PSU.

9.Put the Power LED, Power Switch, HDD LED, and Reset Switch into JFP1 connector. I'm not sure they are in the right position.

10.Plugged cable from my LCD into DVI port on mobo, My mobo is K8NGM2-FID that included 2 port for LCD, VGA and DVI.

11.Plugged cordless Keyboard/Mice into USB port on mobo.

12.Plugged power cord to behind of PSU and turn switch on, also adjust to 115V.

13.Open Front switch on case, I noticed everything such as, fan, PSU's fan, Power LED, HDD LED, CPU's Fan, works, but my screen shown message "no signal, check cable" something like that.
I also didn't heard short Beep which is signal from Bios.

That's all.

I will unplug all and start again. Help me please.

Thanks for all help and comments.
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Try resetting your bios chip using a jumper on the motherboard or by removing the battery for 5 minutes. I had a similar problem on a new build and resetting the bios was all that was needed.
CpuMan is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I try to open it before take all over and start again. Then, it work for a while, CPU's fan and other fans running, and shut down. Why??? I didn't changed anything.
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

Check your PM...... I sent you a message.
__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

ok, I'll follow you and report later.
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 07:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I run with only CPU, RAM, my mobo has a sound on, but It doesn't had Beep sound

That's mean I didn't installed CPU properly???
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Did you try reseting the cmos. An easy fool proof way is to:

1. Open the case.

2. Take out the shiny silver battery.

3. Go take a dump or something lol.

4. Replace the battery.

5. Turn the computer back on.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.