My first build was finished, but... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default My first build was finished, but...

Hi Guru,

My first build was finished, but when I plugged everything to case and open switch, I've nothing. I can't hear a Beep! sound of Bios and my screen has nothing.

Where should I check first?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Power supply and then make sure you have all your connections secure.
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

yes, every fans was run, but I heard nothing and screen also wasn't boot. Power switch must be 115V, right?
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I can't see boot screen. help me to check it.
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Check to see if your hard drive is running, memory inserted correctly, no loose cables.
Also, check to see your Video card is correctly connected and your monitor is getting power.
Finally, check to see if your memories are on right order, speeds.
humbertoc is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Noom
yes, every fans was run, but I heard nothing and screen also wasn't boot. Power switch must be 115V, right?
that depends where you live. do you get 115V or 230V where you live?
I live in Australia, and mains power is 240V, but I think it is 115V in the US
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 12:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

yes, I'm in USA. Everything is work, but I didn't heard Beep of Bios and my monitor doesn't show anything.
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 01:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Is something wrong? I can't see bios screen. I'm sure that monitor 's cable was correct.
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 11:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

Are the spacers installed to isolate the mobo from the bottom of the case? Verify that first...... otherwise your mobo will be history when you power-up.
Are the power & Hdd leds " ON" when you power-up?? If not then:
Verify the power-on, reset sw., led connectors are connected to the mobo connector properly.
If all the above is correct, just try to "Post" with video card, and 1 stick of Ram, disconnect Hdd and Cd/Rom drives.
* Trying to Post with 'audio beep codes'.
Take your time..... don't hurry!
** Enter your System components in your profile...... so we know what you have. Include exact power supply model!
__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

If what JKnPA said didnt work, try to jump start the psu. My first psu came defective and nothing turned on. To jump start the psu, first plug in some fans and then jump the green and black wires that are next to each other on the 20 pin ATX connector. Then turn on the psu. If the fans then turn on, the power supply is fine.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.