My Final Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default My Final Build

Okay well no one seems to be replying to my old thread anymore so I made this fresh one with my final build specs before I purchase it. It all came out to $1,331.44 with shipping and tax.

cpu
video card
mobo
hard drive
memory
dvd burner
cd/dvd drive
psu
fan/heatsink
case

I decided to replace the Lanparty mobo with Biostar because I have heard that the Lanparty doesn't support X2 processors plus I save $30 to add on to the $40 replacement for the 550W psu. Since this is my first build, I would like for someone to please confirm that all these parts will go together nicely meaning that there isn't any parts that my mobo doesn't support or something of that matter.

This computer will be used for mostly gaming purposes such as CS: 1.6, Battlefield 2, WoW, some Photoshop and Sony Vegas 6.0.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66
Default

mobo link is not is not working but overall everything looks nice.
__________________

__________________
Amd Sempron 2500+
ECS K7VTA3 mobo
1 gig Ram
Asus N6600
Antec 300 Watt PSU
19\" LCD
Logitech Mouse & Keyboard
Antec SOHO sx1030 Server
FunkMaster66 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Okay, the mobo link is fixed now. Don't want you to judge without looking at one of the most important parts first.

BTW, does anyone think it's worth dishing out the extra money to get the dual corsair xms 2gb ram?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

bump

anyone?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

-Any ram will do unless you plan on overclocking it. IMHO, 2 gbs of value ram is better than 1 gb of high end ram for gaming.

-I'd recommend a Dfi, Msi or Asus motherboard. As far as i know any 939 board should work with any dual core socket 939 processor. (?)

-Go with the zalman 7700 over the 7000 for the extra few bucks.

Heres a less expensive nice case with more room:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119077

This psu will make the guts of you system look much better and allow more air flow (cooler) as well as being very stable: (antecs are great too)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104155

Good luck with the build. Pm me if you have any more questions.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Thanks, I replaced the case and I actually decided to pay an extra $60 and get this X2 4200+ baby http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547 and I replaced the Patriot ram with this XMS 2B Dual Channel Corsair http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145575. Quick question though; I keep hearing that most games don't support the Dual Core cpu so I'll be limited to turning one of them off, is this true for the games I listed at the top of this thread?

As of right now everything is at around $1449 with tax and shipping and I've already surpassed my expected budget of $1300 so I think I'm set now, just need the money and I'll be ready to purchase it. I'm also saving up a bit more (though I don't need it right now) for this 19" CRT http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824116282 which the resolution capabilities would look real good with my 7800GT.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I believe it works like this: Its not that games dont "support" dual core processors, just that they wont utilize dual core processors...when gaming the one core will be used for the game and anything else running will be used off the other core.

Just so you know you could always overclock that 3800 to 4200 speeds. But you can also overclock the 4200 even higher.

Nice monitor there, but Lcds are really starting to kicka ss esp with color and clarity etc....thats another topic alltogether...
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Yeah I hear but I keep hearing CRTs are better for gaming because most CRTs have better response times and have better, higher resolutions for gaming of which a 19"LCD monitor with similar resolution/hz would be $450+. I'm also worried about dead pixels so I'm just gonna play it safe and save some cash in the process by getting the CRT. I have around $1000 right now and the cpu is a weekend sale so I'm gonna go and purchase like half of the items in my cart right now.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
I believe it works like this: Its not that games dont "support" dual core processors, just that they wont utilize dual core processors...when gaming the one core will be used for the game and anything else running will be used off the other core.

Just so you know you could always overclock that 3800 to 4200 speeds. But you can also overclock the 4200 even higher.
I think I understand now, so I will still benefit from the duel cores if I was multitasking correct? Say I am listening to music, burning a dvd, and downloading a program it will all feed off one of the processors and the other processor will be used for gaming all at the same time?

Also I am quite interested in overclocking but I would first like all my parts and actually build my comp first before I get into that.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

OK man, im gonna help you with stuff. If you are interested in overclocking just get the 3800+, the $60 extra for very little boost is pointless & anyone with good ram etc should just be able to up the bus.
For 1 GB ram, this is good http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227069
may i recommend this Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136166
For 2 GB this is god
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145574
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.