My computer won't go past "Starting Windows"

Status
Not open for further replies.

valenwood

Beta member
I'm hoping that you could help me. This is my first time building a computer. I bought a new case, a new motherboard, and a new processor. The parts that I'm using from my old computer are the graphics card, the ram, and the internal hard drive.

I got my new computer to turn on and I was able to get to the screen where I can select the operating system. The operating systems are Ubuntu, and Windows 7. I can boot up Ubuntu just fine. I can load files from my hard drive, and I can save a file to my hard drive on Ubuntu. I can also load up a CD. So as far as I know the wiring is set up correctly.

The problem is when I try going on Windows 7. When I select this option it goes to the screen where there is a message saying "Starting Windows" and four orbs start spin around. However, the computer automatically restarts during the middle of this process.

I would like to also mention that I placed spare parts into my old computer. I tested my hard drive with my spare computer and it was able to load Windows 7 with no problems at all.

On my new computer I have also tried pressing F8 and using Safe Mode. However, the computer would restart before going to the desktop.

I have a CD for my motherboard, but I have not installed it yet. I tried inserting the CD in and restarting my computer, but I never saw a prompt telling me if I want to boot the CD.

My new computer is running an AMD motherboard, with 4GB of ram, and a GeForce 8800 graphics card.

My old computer had an Intel motherboard, 3GB of ram, and the same graphics card.

I have no idea if it's a hardware or software issue.

If you need any more information from me please ask.

My room has been a mess for the past 2 weeks and i was really hoping that the computer would work and that I could clean up...
:sweat: