My Computer stays frozen... need help! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 08:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Have you turned the computer on my friend? I make the same mistake when my computer does not do anything. Maybe you are like me?
__________________

Alf Poier is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

lol you think the comps on when no fans or lights are on ?
__________________

harley3344 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 04:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

"harley3344: lol you think the comps on when no fans or lights are on ?"

--Of course not. The computer is on, it just freezes and goes into a blank state.


"Alf Poier: Have you turned the computer on my friend? I make the same mistake when my computer does not do anything. Maybe you are like me?"

--I know when a computer is on. That isn't the case here.
Crusader878 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Crusader878
"harley3344: lol you think the comps on when no fans or lights are on ?"

--Of course not. The computer is on, it just freezes and goes into a blank state.


"Alf Poier: Have you turned the computer on my friend? I make the same mistake when my computer does not do anything. Maybe you are like me?"

--I know when a computer is on. That isn't the case here.
i think harley was saying that to Poier.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
i think harley was saying that to Poier.
Yeah, I realized that afterwards. lol.
Crusader878 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 11:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

lol i get confused sometimes when people are talking too, also was he alrdy banned when I said that. I hate not seeing that the fist time.
harley3344 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 09:53 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

UPDATE:

I decided to search again and see if maybe any components were loose or cloged. Everything was fine, however, the RAM was filthy. So I cleaned it out and fired up the computer.

The computer booted normally and lasted about 12 hours before it went blank again. I'm guessing that maybe the RAM is no good. Does this sound accurate? I don't want to have to buy RAM if I don't need to.

Another thing is the Heatsink fan. At first when I turn on the computer (whether it boots normally or not) it makes a noise then goes silent. The fan seems to work though, cause it spins and looks ok. But I don't know much about that.

And if I do have to buy RAM, is Kingston a good reliable brand?
Thanks again guys.
Crusader878 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 10:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Crusader878
UPDATE:

I decided to search again and see if maybe any components were loose or cloged. Everything was fine, however, the RAM was filthy. So I cleaned it out and fired up the computer.

The computer booted normally and lasted about 12 hours before it went blank again. I'm guessing that maybe the RAM is no good. Does this sound accurate? I don't want to have to buy RAM if I don't need to.

Another thing is the Heatsink fan. At first when I turn on the computer (whether it boots normally or not) it makes a noise then goes silent. The fan seems to work though, cause it spins and looks ok. But I don't know much about that.

And if I do have to buy RAM, is Kingston a good reliable brand?
Thanks again guys.
yes this definitely looks like a ram problem. what type of ram is this and how old is it? The heatsink fan is probably slowing down because of a SMART FAN setting in the bios, or something similar to that. As long as it is spinning, then you should be fine.

Yes, kingston is a reliable brand, but i wouldn't recommend it if you are OCing.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 10:17 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
yes this definitely looks like a ram problem. what type of ram is this and how old is it? The heatsink fan is probably slowing down because of a SMART FAN setting in the bios, or something similar to that. As long as it is spinning, then you should be fine.

Yes, kingston is a reliable brand, but i wouldn't recommend it if you are OCing.
I'm not sure what type of RAM it is but it's almost three years old. What is OCing?
Crusader878 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 10:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah if it's three years old you should prolly get some newer stuff and your computer will prolly run better. OCing is short for Overclocking, or pushing computer components to go faster than the manufacturer set it at.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.