My Computer Stats - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2006, 09:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Default My Computer Stats

Hi, I know you are all probably sick of this, but can you please analyze my computer? I have no idea what any of it really means. I am willing to do my own research but I don't know where to start. I should also mention I want to upgrade for gaming. What are the core ingredients of my computer that change the performance for videogames? I'm concerned about my CPU now because I downloaded both FEAR Combat and BF2142 Demo, and both lag horrendously, even on the lowest settings possible. I know I have an adequate(not great) video card, but these new games need something different. Any suggestions?

System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1 AuthenticAMD ~1494 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG, 12/24/2004
SMBIOS Version 2.2
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)"
User Name DON\don1
Time Zone Pacific Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 1,024.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 660.88 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 2.41 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
__________________

Donnetello is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Well you got enough memory, I think it's time for you tp upgrade your Video Card, and you should try to find out more info about your computer.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default

a lot of the info given there is just generic data about your computer, and was probably generated by windows. Best way you could go about it if you wanted to learn about these sorta things would to either goto the manufacturers site, and view the list of components that make up your system. Either that or open the case, and have a look what's written on any item you want to know about (but dont unplug/change anything if you dont know what youre doing) So for example if you see 'asus geforce 6800' on your video card, then goto google and type in 'asus geforce 6800 review' or something similar. This is probably the best way to find info on any computer parts in this day and age. Enjoy!
plant is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Download Everest.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Here is a good way to find out what hardware your computer has:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=57444
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

the main core components for gaming are : ram, video card, and CPU.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Here is a good way to find out what hardware your computer has:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=57444
CPU-Z and dxdiag don't give you that much information. Just some basic stuff.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
CPU-Z and dxdiag don't give you that much information. Just some basic stuff.
Right....and if you go through the entire thread, there is info about everest, which will tell you a bit more.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 04:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Right....and if you go through the entire thread, there is info about everest, which will tell you a bit more.
I already suggested Everest in this thread
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
I already suggested Everest in this thread
i've never used Everest, what does it give you that CPU-Z doesnt?
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.