My computer is slow. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2008, 09:47 PM   #21 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My computer is slow.

I sent him a PM.

The easiest way to send a member a PM is to right (or middle) click their user name, then choose to send them a PM through their profile. You can also go to your UserCP and choose Send New Message on the left and type or paste their name in.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
The easiest way to send a member a PM is to right (or middle) click their user name, then choose to send them a PM through their profile. You can also go to your UserCP and choose Send New Message on the left and type or paste their name in.
the click on a member's name to view profile/send PM hasn't worked for me for a while :|
always have to send one thru user CP

using FF btw
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:26 PM   #23 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WasTech
What do you think I'll gain with that one? Is it fast enough? How old is it? The price is right.
Going from 32-bit to 64-bit processing is a pretty big difference. I know it was to me. I went from the 2000+ to a 3200+ s939, and it was like night and day.

You can always keep your eyes open for an upgrade. I snagged my 4200 X2 through a trade here on Tech-Forums- a 7800GTX even. Considering I gave 200 for my current GFX card, and swapped my old GFX for the CPU, it was like getting the CPU for free.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.clown
the click on a member's name to view profile/send PM hasn't worked for me for a while :|
always have to send one thru user CP

using FF btw
I middle-click the name to open the profile in a new tab. From there I can PM them. I also use Firefox.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 12:37 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 221
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Yeh, PM isn't working by clicking name. I got his PM and sent a reply.

What about what I asked about the Cleaner above. Not sure if I should check all boxes since I got a warning.

Thanks, Trotter
WasTech is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 01:44 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Yes it is fine to click everything, they give you a warning because them files will remove custom ordering of the start menu and explorer view settings, also clears the start menu "recently used list"

Also if you dont want to use O&O defrag you can use the windows defrag, but OO will organize your computer a bit better than just the normal windows defrager.

I use O&O and it defently helps. As you said your drive is old so you will notice the performance gain.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 09:01 AM   #26 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Don't worry about the Advanced options, as the main ones will be plenty.

As Redmoon said, you get a warning because it will be deleting files. this is precautionary, nothing to worry about.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 01:41 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 221
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Trotter,

Ok I ran it advanced. I talked with him about CPU. I'll let you kow how it goes.
WasTech is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 04:47 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Is it any faster?

Real, try defraging it.

My Computer > Right click the drive > Properties > Tools > Defragmentation
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 08:17 AM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 89
Wink Re: My computer is slow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WasTech View Post
Hey guys,

My computer is just not cutting it any more. It's a AMD Athlon XP 3200 with a ASUS A7N8X-E-Deluxe - 1GB DDR2 RAM - Antec True 550W PS - Maxtor 250 GB HD - Liteon DVD-RW - Floppy - PCI ATA 133 cont - MSI NVidia 8mb AGP graph card. The old Creat SB live SC - OS is XP Pro. I think my biggest drain on my system is Mcafee suite free with cable sub. especially FW. My problem is startup takes at least 5 min til I can do anything and when I have a website up and maybe Winamp on if I go into my folders I get an hour glass for around 15 or more seconds and If I view a pic in XP the viewer delays with hour glass for 30 or more seconds. It also locks up some times and has restarted a few times to. Which had me thinking PS but Antec is a good PS so not sure about that but it is getting old. I think I bought it in 2002.

I want to upgrade the MB and cpu. I don't think I need any more RAM I'm only surfing for the most part on this comp. Of course I know you can always use more RAM. I know this limits me but I want to keep my AGP graph card. It works great so I'm not junking it. I want to stay with AMD and I want Dual-Core. I don't really want to spend more than $160.00 with shipping. If you have another reason why my comp is slow I'd like to hear it.
Your main reason why your computer slow is probably due to the excess programs on your computer. Your Anti-Virus software takes a huge portion of it away especially Mcafee a.k.a. "worst hogging resource software ever!" I would ditch that and get AVG Free AVG Free Advisor - AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition This in my opinion is the best anti-virus protection ever and doesn't hog resources. As well try clearing some running programs and clear som junk in your computer, I reccomend ccleaner CCleaner - Download Everything here is free and you can save your $160.00. It's not the physical aspect to your computer, most likely
tbsk8er04 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 10:21 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: My computer is slow.

Quote:
Your main reason why your computer slow is probably due to the excess programs on your computer. Your Anti-Virus software takes a huge portion of it away especially Mcafee a.k.a. "worst hogging resource software ever!" I would ditch that and get AVG Free AVG Free Advisor - AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition This in my opinion is the best anti-virus protection ever and doesn't hog resources. As well try clearing some running programs and clear som junk in your computer, I reccomend ccleaner CCleaner - Download Everything here is free and you can save your $160.00. It's not the physical aspect to your computer, most likely
Sorry to tell you but if you read the second page i already suggested all that, ccleaner, avg and uninstall mcafee +defrag
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Slow computer - again cowgirl_up914 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 05-18-2007 08:51 AM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.