is my computer good enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2006, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Default is my computer good enough?

i have recently got the games age of empires 3 and world of warcraft. I have exactly the same problem with both of them. I can get inot the game, and then after about 5 minutes the computer totally crashes and the only way i can get off , is by pushing the shutdown button on my computer.

But the odd thing is that sometimes the games will work and i can have a good game with them.

I have a intel celeron d, 768mb of ram, and a geforce 6600 256mb graphics card.

The game should run, i have it all set to minimum settings and yet still the magority of the trime it doesnt work.

also when the computer does crash sometimes it does say that the file nv4_disp is stuck in an infinate loop, and then it dumps all of its physical memory.

im rearly confused about why it will not work. hope fully some of you guys can help me, thanks in advanced

sacko200 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 04:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Matt08642's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272

That's odd, AOE III and WoW run fine with my 64MB integrated graphics...

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

try reinstalling the game, remove it ENTIRELY. i mean removing every part of it that ever touch ur computer. the files in the HKEY part as well.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

Try updating your graphics card drivers at
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 06:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16

i have tried new drivers and reinstalling them bioth. But it still doesnt work.

i was wondering could the graphics card or cpu be overheating?
sacko200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.