Is my 250W PSU enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2005, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Is my 250W PSU enough?

Right now I have a Emachines T2484 that I want to upgrade.

I need a motherboard with an AGP slot so im going to replace the whole motherboard with this one:
MSI 865GM2-LS Socket 478 Intel 865G Micro ATX Intel

The video card Im aiming to buy is this one:
SAPPHIRE RADEON 9600XT 128M Radeon 9600XT 128MB

Here are the rest of my components:(sorry if I missed anything)
CPU: Intel Celeron 2.4 GHz
PCI Cards: None ( I plan to use the onboard Audio and LAN)
Hard Drives: 1 Ultra ATA 100 (80 GB)
Optical Drives: 1 CD-RW 40x Max
RAM: 2 sticks (a 512MB PC2700 stick and a 256MB stick that came with the T2484)

*My main question is will my current 250W PSU be enough? Or would it be better to just hold off until I can get another PSU? Im on a tight budget.

DianeLuvsMunky is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

Considering eMachines packages cheap, low quality PSUs that like to go boom in the night in their computers, I'd personally wait and get a good quality, more powerful PSU.


Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

Your PSU might be able to handle the load, but a new one would be a good idea (I am using an eMachine with its wimpy PSU and graphics card with no problems, however).

If you do, go with a decent one. Here's a link to the COOLMAX CM-300 MicroATX 300W Power Supply, $40.99 + $6.99 FedEx Saver Shipping:

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike

Hey that MX4000 can still whoop some butt in newer games TYVM.

And I would go with what Trotter suggested.
<img src=\"\" border=\"0\">
Check out Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Since its cheap, it might not have enouph ampage.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

IF you are planning on upgrading the MOBO with a 478 socket, consider looking at the ASUS P4P800E-DELUXE. It's about $113.00
but, hands down the best Intel P4 socket 478 mobo available. Tons of features, Solid BIOS, Great OCin' Utilities, 2 SATA & 2 RAID controllers, extremely easy to install, excellent user manual... It's a winner...

As for the PSU i would consider upgrading that also.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to JumaadJ Send a message via Yahoo to JumaadJ

at least get a 400w psu. It will help lots.
JumaadJ is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2

Thanks for your replys!

I was aiming to buy that exact PSU, however it would put me over my budget. I will buy it as soon as I can.
Trying to find a MicroATX PSU with good wattage has been a little hard.
DianeLuvsMunky is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 01:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

i am running 350W Fortan Source. quiet and stable under loads as well (only thing is fan starts spinning fast on heavy loads), rest never dissapointed. their PSU's are cheap and stable.

Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.