Multi-core questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2008, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Multi-core questions

Hi, I have been wondering about multi-core processors for a long time. My current PC is using an Intel Celeron M 1.7GHz, and I've decided to build a new PC. I've decided to go with a multi core processor and I've had one big question:

Is the labeled clock speed on the processor the speed of both the cores? Or is the labeled clock speed the sum of both the cores?
__________________

35g700 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Multi-core questions

Its the speed of 1 core, and never NEVER ever take the sum of both cores (so don't say my q6600 has a 2.4ghz stock, that means its 9600mhz!! gasp!!!!) that was a hypothetical example
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 08:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Multi-core questions

so each core is running at the labeled clock speed?
35g700 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Multi-core questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
so each core is running at the labeled clock speed?
ya
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Multi-core questions

thats awesome and thanks
35g700 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: Multi-core questions

Oh, and please don't compare multi core clock speeds with older chips either, they really don't compare at all. Like my E2140 with it's measly 1.6ghz stock speed can easily wipe the floor with say, a P4 3.0ghz.

I'm just sayin, it's not just about clock speed anymore, the arcitechture has changed way too much for that. On that note, I'm going to google the correct spelling of "arcitechture" because I'm very sure I just butchered the heck out of it.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 11:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Multi-core questions

Yup, just because its a low clock speeds, doesnt mean its slow. A slow dual core will beat a fast single core every time.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 07:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Multi-core questions

that and Core 2 Duos outperform Pentium D's even though a lot of them have half of the Core Clock speeds
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Been reading up on Quad Core, few questions Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 20 10-14-2007 05:40 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
Just go the Quad Core Q6600.... Questions pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-10-2007 01:49 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.