MSI GT60 one403us hard drive upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2013, 06:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: MSI GT60 one403us hard drive upgrade

I recently put a SSD in my desktop and had a similar issue, Not all the time but most of the time, I had a seagate 1 terabyte (old drive) and the ssd for windows and it seemed to randomly pick which drive it would boot from, I went into the bios and it only listed the seagate in the boot order section, so I had only my SSD (OCZ Vertex 4) plugged in and then in bios put it as first boot device and after a good boot shut down and reconnected the seagate and it's been booting fine ever since. No idea why it was doing it or why it some times booted from the SSD and other times tried booting from the seagate but it all works now, Mine just came up the the loading screen and told me a windows file was missing or some thing like that.

Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 13
Default Re: MSI GT60 one403us hard drive upgrade

Yeah I thought the boot order of the HDD and the SDD might have been the problem at first but when I checked the Seagate was the first one (OS installed) and my samsung 840 was the second in the hard drive boot order, even updated the bios and still had no result, I finally just reinstalled the original hard drive and it works perfectly with the SSD installed, so im guessing it might have had something to do with hard drive its self or maybe even the Restore DVD's, the restore dvd's did work perfectly on the original HDD becuz I ran them (DVD's) on it last night and it boots up fine so i dunno what to think anymore
__________________

dela4220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

What OS came shipped with your laptop?
__________________

__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.