Moving OS from hdd to ssd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2016, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Default Moving OS from hdd to ssd

Hello, I'm new here and I was wondering if I could get some help with this. I built a computer around a year ago and for budget reasons I decided not to get a solid state drive to start with. I've been upgrading over time as I found the money and I got the ssd a month or two ago. It came with some Acronis software, and I tried to clone the ~300 gb of my stuff from the hdd over to the 480gb ssd, but failed. From what I could gather online this happened sometimes.

As it's summer now and I have some time on my hands, I intend to try again. I chose to go the cloning route the first time around because it seemed the easiest way to go. I'm told a clean install of windows to the ssd will be more successful. But I'm really quite clueless when it comes to software.

How should I go about this? Does it matter if the disk and activation key I have are for Windows 8 and I've upgraded to Windows 10? Will the stuff on my hdd still be usable like it is now, or will uninstalling Windows mess with the other things on my hdd? Is there anything else I should know before I go through with this? Are there any processes other than a clean install I should consider?

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

Arisaka99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 12:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Moving OS from hdd to ssd

Yes here is how to do a clean install to Windows 10 but remember the free upgrade is over July 29,2016.
Windows 10 free upgrade, clean install? - Microsoft Community
You should have been easily able to clone one drive to the other using Acronis though I haven't used the free versions that come with a hard drive in a long time. It is quite possible you may have to buy the full version to use for the ssd if the Acronis you are using came with the hard drive and not the ssd. You can try a free version of EaseUs Disk Copy first though.
EaseUS Disk Copy Freeware - Free Disk Copy, Disk Clone Software download to Clone Hard Drive
__________________

Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Moving OS from hdd to ssd

To clone the OS drive you need to make the bootable software on a flash drive using the Acronis software. It won't fail then.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Moving OS from hdd to ssd

You can try Macrium Reflect Free. It can be run in Windows so no need for rebooting. Used it yesterday to clone a Laptop HDD.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD, 500 GB HDD & 250 GB HDD setup mwwwilson System Upgrades 6 12-14-2013 02:58 PM
Good SSD and bad HDD vs one good HDD Geoman37 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-30-2013 04:37 PM
HDD to SSD migration: mirror or clone HDD or reinstall everything fresh hyongx New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-29-2011 05:16 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.