motherboard mounting question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default motherboard mounting question

I'm not exactly sure how to word this but if a case has little bulges on the screw holes do you still need to use standoffs ( little screw things with a screw hole on the top) to prevent the mobo from shorting out?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: motherboard mounting question

My old case (Xpider-II) was like that, and it didn't need spacers - what case do you have?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: motherboard mounting question

I don't think you should but I don't remember ever having a case like that personally.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: motherboard mounting question

Does the rear IO match up with the IO sheild? Did stand-offs come with the case?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: motherboard mounting question

I don't know what the case is. A bag of screws came with it and there are some risers in that bag. This is a barebone kit that I am building for a friend.

Here's what it is exactly
Biostar MCP6PB M2+ Socket AM2+AM2 Barebone Kit - NVIDIA GeForce 6150, AMD Athlon X2 4200+ 2.2GHz, 3GB DDR2-667, ATX Mid-Tower, 450 Watt PSU in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

just something small to replace a broken computer.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: motherboard mounting question

I've had a couple of cases that had slight risers but still needed the stand offs. kmote mentioned it, just drop the mobo in and see if the I/O shield matches up with the ports, if yes, you're golden, if not, then install stand offs. Should take you all of 20 seconds to do.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: motherboard mounting question

Ok I got the pc built and it came with risers (alot more than I need) so I figured if it came with it they must be needed. Turns out I was right
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New motherboard, ram, cpu and dvd drive. WILL IT READ FROM NEW SATA DVD DRIVE evan833 System Upgrades 11 01-14-2009 09:16 PM
Windows XP and MSI Motherboard compatibility question grkbar Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-02-2007 10:58 PM
Upgrading Motherboard and processor. HDD switch question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 25 06-28-2007 01:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.