Motherboard help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2006, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Question Motherboard help!!!

Ok, Im putting a computer together and I was just wondering which mobo would fit it well...

specs:
AMD 64 3700+
ATI x850 Crossfire
1gb ram
250 gig HD

What mobo do you think would fit this computer well and go good with the video card, one that is up to date and won't need upgrading for a while....

A8R-MVP
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=A455-2127

http://usa.asus.com/products4.aspx?m...3&l2=15&l3=236

or

A8N-E
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=A455-2115

And can you tell me if these mobo's have onboard sound and ethernet cards lol ( possibly a very stupid question)
Thanks alot..
__________________

d-von is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Are you getting 2 cards?

I would go with either ASUS A8N-sli (not Sh*t Edition) or deluxe or a DFI lanparty ultra-d if you are going for single card or the DFI lanparty crossfire thing if you are going 2 (my advice would be go for the single card.

I don't think I have seen a motherboard for 939 that doesn't have onboard sound and ethernet.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

lol alright, but im really digging the A8R-MVP is that a good steardy mobo?

and so it'll be internet ready right?
d-von is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I recomended those motherboards due to the nvidia nforce 4 chipset, which is the best I have ever seen. People who have used the new ATI one said it was only OK, but I can't speak of personal experience for it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

Alright so Ive changed it all around to this:
AMD 64 3700+
A8N-SLI Deluxe
7800 GT
1gb Ram
SATA 250gig HD
500watts
xp home

Is this a good gaming computer?
d-von is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You can keep your ATI card with a nvidia board, but the 7800gt is a great card (I have one, and runs all games highest settings flawlessly.)

What company makes that PSU, as you may need to put more money in to it, for one that will run that system stabaly.

Make sure that the CPU is a san diego core.

And yes.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 05:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

what else could it be other then a san diego core? and the make for the power supply is thermal take
__________________

d-von is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.