Motherboard help!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 03:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

I can see the windows xp product key on the back of the computer. Why would that be illegal if I own the rights to that product key of window? If I borrow someones discs can I just use that key?
__________________

stephen_s is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 03:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stephen_s
Thanks for the responses. So the recovery discs definitely won't work? Even if I did borrow windows xp from a friend wouldn't I need a different cd key than him?
No your recovery CD will most likely not work.

However borrowing a CD from a friend will work, and you can use your legal CD key to install windows. However I think this is technically illegal, but nobody really cares. Your PC appears as a legal version ect.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Thanks for the quick response. I think I will try to do that.
stephen_s is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

I am reinstalling the processor now and the motherboard booklet says I need to apply thermal paste on it. I don't have any. Do I need to put more thermal paste on it or can I just put it back the way it was?
stephen_s is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Well since you are using the same heatsink it might have thermal paste already on it and on the processor. Check the heatsink/fan and the proc. If it has thermal paste on it already than you can just go ahead and put it back on but if some got wiped off or something than i would suggest going to the nearest store and pick some up it shold cost around 5 bux depending on whihc kind you buy.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

It still has some on it. I just took it off and haven't touched the paste. So it shouldn't cause any problems to put it back on?
stephen_s is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

No, it should be fine. = )
I'd just put it back on...
Eleaf is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yeah just put it back on
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 09:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Thanks for all the help!!! I just finished putting everything in and booted it and got to the bios. I am going to try to borrow the windows discs tomorrow. I hope it works.
stephen_s is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 09:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yeah good job so loadin windows is usually the easy part. It should work . Good luck wiht your computer!
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.