Motherboard help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default Motherboard help!!!

The motherboard on my computer got damaged so I got this one. Once I put it in what all will I have to do? Someone said I would have to reinstall windows but all I have are the "recovery disks" that came with this computer; it is an emachines. Will those work for this? I have used those to reinstall windows on it but with the motherboard that came with it. Will I be able to get information off the hard drive? Thanks for the help.
__________________

stephen_s is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

hmm.. that's a tough one. I am not sure but i do know that once you change the motherboard you defenitely have to reinstall windows. That i am posotive of, but i am not sure if the recovery cd will work. My first thought was that it wouldn't work but you can let someboy double check me.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I'm pretty sure it won't work. Those recovery CD's are made for the motherboard the computer came with.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

You could call emachines and ask them how much a replacement mobo would cost and then return the ECS one. Or yo couls just buy windows xp.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837116194

Windows xp retail $99 ^^^^^^^^

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837102059

Windows xp OEM $89 ^^^^^^^^

You are in a tough situation.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Since I already have xp on that computer could I just borrow someone else's copy of xp? It doesn't seem like I should have to buy it.
stephen_s is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yeah you could. Just kep it on the down low though lol you dont want people to think you are doing illegal stuff even though you already have windows xp some people still get mad about it. If one of your friends has windows xp though than just use it. I would. Especially if you are not planning on building a computer than the operating system would be useless to you so just borrow a friends.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Technically, that IS illegal, regardless whether or not you have XP on that computer.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

use your own CD key, is that illeagal>
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 10:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you can't just plug in any ole cd key. you don't think they keep every CD key ever made on each windows disc, do ya? It is illegal to just 'borrow' a disc. You should buy a new one. The copy of XP you got with your computer is meant to only go with the computer you had as it was. That's why those computers are so cheap. They make deals with microsoft.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 03:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Thanks for the responses. So the recovery discs definitely won't work? Even if I did borrow windows xp from a friend wouldn't I need a different cd key than him?
__________________

stephen_s is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.