Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2011, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste

Just a quick question; would it be worth it at all to unscrew the motherboard heatsinks and replace the default thermal paste/tape with some TX-2?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste

I usually apply fresh paste quite often, but it really shouldn't need to be changed very often. Once a year wouldn't be a bad interval. I can't stress this next point hard enough, you only need to use a little paste. Just a Little, 90% of the people use more than they need to. If you cut a BB in half, that would be about all I use.

Exit:

My bad, your talking about the mobo heatsinks, only one or two of those sinks can use TX-2. The others need tape. What mobo are you using?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste

A BB?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
What mobo are you using?
ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, same as you I think.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste

What are your temps like? The bigger sinks can use paste, the sinks close to the socket use tape. I'm using my tablet right now but I'll post a pic of the mobo and a link to the proper tape tomorrow.

Edit:

A BB, like a BB gun.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste

CPU temps or motherboard temps? If CPU then I hit ~67-68C in Intel Burn Test with the settings in my sig. Dunno where to get motherboard temps :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 06:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard heatsinks, thermal paste



#1 - These two heatsinks require thermal tape. I found this in the UK, you can just cut it to size.

Kustom PCs Thermal Pad 100x100x1mm 1 piece

#2 - You'll notice this heatsink is attached to heatsinks#1 by a heatpipe. I haven't actually removed this but as far as I know it is not actually cooling anything underneath it. It is just providing more cooling power to heatsinks#1. If you find that it is cooling something then it will probably require thermal tape.

#3 - You should be able to use TX-2 on this chip (the actual P67 chipset).



I usually run Realtemp to keep my eyes on the cpu cores. Every now and then I check my Motherboard Temp using the Sensor Monitor included with the Asus AI Suite II. The value label CPU is just the sensor located on the mobo directly underneath the socket.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpu thermal paste... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 06-29-2007 11:40 AM
Thermal Pad + Paste Iantosca System Upgrades 3 08-21-2006 09:43 PM
is thermal thermal paste thing important? gully2005 Overclocking and Modding 6 08-08-2005 02:18 AM
Thermal Paste wongb18c Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 10-07-2004 09:30 PM
Thermal Paste or Thermal Tape DAVID_15 Overclocking and Modding 22 05-05-2004 09:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.