Motherboard for Gateway 831GM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2009, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

Looking for a recommendation for a new motherboard for this unit. It's a microATX. I'm just looking to replace the OEM that died. I'd like to keep the price under $80.

I found a Biostar GF7100P-M7S. I'm not that great with motherboards, but will this fit my pc? Also, not sure if this comes with a new processor or if I reuse the one I have.
__________________

spackler is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

Yes, it will fit in your PC.

No, it doesn't come with a processor. you will have to reuse the one you have. Be sure to get some thermal paster to reapply between your CPU and heatsink. This one is both good and cheap.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

If you didn't buy that biostar mobo model, leave that thing alone.

Look at this and see if this agrees with you, I've had that same case you had and built a pc with that using a very reliable gigabyte board and and my previous celeron d I sold about 9 months ago.

This one will cost about 53.00 total plus shipping if you go 3 day select with newegg which should about 60 bucks total.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

I haven't purchased yet. Funny enough I was just looking at that one before I came back here to check in. Looks good to me. My only concern was the size. It's a full 2 inches shorter than mine. Wondering what I'd miss with this. The only thing I can see is that I have two inputs on the front of the case that plug into a headphone and mic. Not sure I see those on this board?
spackler is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

Don't worry you'll be able to fit your mic, uss wires on that mobo no problem at all.
The old gigabyte mobo I had then and now this boring foxconn were to able to use my cables just fine.
The only thing that might get you is the ide drives like hdd and cd-rw or dvd-rw, but if you have regular sata drives for a hdd and dvd-rw your fine.
The choice is up to you really, in my opinion try to stay away from mobo's on newegg.com that had half of a 4 star rating and people mentioned that word RMA's to many times in tghe feedback section within a week's time.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 05:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

I actually have one ide connection for the CD/DVD drives and one sata connection for the HDD. So I should be ok there?

Thanks for the assistance.
spackler is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 05:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

You should be just perfectly fine with setup you currently have right now.
Let me ask you this, what type of cpu do you have and what actually happened with your pc ?
I know you said the motherboard died, half the time when a mobo dies it will go dead and leave your other components alone other times it will take out the cpu, which I am hoping that is not your case.

Here's the deal, go ahead and get the motherboard now, in the mean time while it's headed your way have a friend with computer skills or possibly a computer shop test your cpu.
I don't want you to get that new mobo and you put in the cpu and your computer won't boot.
I've taken that route twice and have not been happy at all, that was when I was dealing with socket 478 p4's and celeron's back in 2003....
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 06:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

The problem with the Gigabyte board versus the Biostar is the graphics chip. Sorry, but Intel's graphics crap blows. The 7100 will work MUCH better. This is moot if there is a graphics card involved, of course. Since one was not mentioned, I would go for the 7100 board.

Be sure to toss in plenty of RAM as all onboard graphics also uses onboard RAM (the same RAM your computer is using at the time). 32-bit XP and 32-bit Vista can only address 3.5Gb of RAM, so add in what you can. 4GB kits (2 x 2GB) are very inexpensive and would max out your RAM for you.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 10:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

I got the board last Thursday. So far it has been a nightmare.

The CPU cooler from my old board attached with screws, the board needed the plug in type. So I bought new CPU cooler. Fine.

Now, the effing ram from the old board doesn't fit. WTF? I now have to buy new ram??

What's next?
spackler is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 10:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Motherboard for Gateway 831GM

Both the Biostar you originally mentioned and the Gigabyte board use DDR2 RAM. Your original board uses PC3200 DDR (technical specs).

Yes, the new board will require different RAM. The good news is that DDR2 is rather inexpensive right now.

Newegg.com - OCZ Value Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
$21
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New motherboard, ram, cpu and dvd drive. WILL IT READ FROM NEW SATA DVD DRIVE evan833 System Upgrades 11 01-14-2009 09:16 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
No Video At All! [ EVGA 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard. ] Oshikorosu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-31-2008 05:51 PM
After New motherboard, PC wont start up? amazonsamurai Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-11-2008 02:18 PM
Just need help on grabbing a Motherboard Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-08-2008 08:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.