Motherboard/CPU/RAM compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default Motherboard/CPU/RAM compatibility

just wanted to make sure everything here is compatible...

-MOTHERBOARD: SOLTEK SL-K8TPro-939 Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro ATX AMD Motherboard

-PROCESSOR: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3200BPBOX

-MEMORY: CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model TWINX1024-3200C2PT

-CPU COOLER: Thermaltake VENUS 12 80mm Ball Cooling Fan/Heatsink

will i need to update bios to use this mobo/cpu combo? because on the soltek site they had an updated bios for
-Supported AMD K8 E6 CPU(couldnt find information about what the "E6" is[googled] )
-Supported AMD K8 Dual-Core CPU(i know i dont need this one since i dont think venice is a dual core)
__________________

s4m222 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 06:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Get a different board.

MSI, ASUS, DFI
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 06:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

It would work, but as turtile said get a better mobo
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

it was hard to find a board with agp.... but is my board compatible more than anything else?

what about this board?

EPoX EP-9NDA3+ Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
s4m222 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

and when i get the money i could always upgrade the mobo to a pci-e one and get a new video card...

for now im just wondering if that mobo is compatible... and if i need a bios flash or anything like that for the 3200+ venice CPU?!?!
s4m222 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 06:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Do you already have a card? If you do, what is it? PCI X gen 2 is coming in a year.

You could get the 6150 onboard and use that video until you get a card.

I would get the Nforce 4 Ultra.
turtile is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i got a agp pny 6600 geforce~~
__________________

s4m222 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.