Motherboard Chipset Problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2011, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 44
Default Motherboard Chipset Problems?

I've decided that it is time for a graphics card update, my GT 120 is just getting too old and overheating way to quick ( I cleaned it but to no success) anyway my motherboard is a FMCP7AM with a nForce 730i chipset. Using CPU-Z its says the general memory is DDR2. Most of the graphics cards today are DDR3 so how can I find out if the mobo. will take DDR3?

Also because of the chipset can it take ATi cards?

Any help is appreciated, including recommendations, thanks.

PC Specs (just in case)...

CPU: Core 2 Quad Q8200,
Memory: 4gb DDR2,
PSU: I think 600W but could be wrong,
__________________

cravingsleep is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Motherboard Chipset Problems?

Motherboards don't really care what brand card you use, the only time this may be an issue is when you are running two cards in SLi or Crossfire.
Also, your system memory (DDR2) has no bearing on your graphics card memory.
DDR3 is the most current system memory, DDR5 is on most current graphics cards and they work fine together.

Need to know your budget, and a positive I.D. of your PSU would be helpful, before making recommendations.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard Chipset Problems?

It does not matter what the GDDR is. That is separate from your board's RAM needs.

Is this the computer? I couldn't find that exact model with a 730i chipset. Gateway Support - Specifications

What brand PSU is that? Open the case and have a look at the PSU sticker. Knowing OEM brands, they skimp on the PSU.

Edit: ninja'd
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 44
Default Re: Motherboard Chipset Problems?

The PSU says "Total output continuous shall not exceed 600W". So I guess it is 600W?
Oh and it is a Packard Bell "iXTREME X6617 UK".
So would a GT 520 be alright? - EVGA GeForce GT 520 1025MB GDDR3 | 01G-P3-1525-KR

Thanks,
cravingsleep is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard Chipset Problems?

Take a picture of the PSU sticker, if you can, and post it on here.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 44
Default Re: Motherboard Chipset Problems?

The PSU is definitely 600W,
with that information what would be the best card for a budget of £40?
cravingsleep is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 06:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Motherboard Chipset Problems?

We need the model name as well. If it's just a OEM, most likely it will not have the amperage to run your card.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 44
Default Re: Motherboard Chipset Problems?

The model name is "FSP600-80GLN".
Here are the specs: FSP >> PC Power Supply >> ATX 12V ver.2.01 >> FSP600-80GLN
__________________

cravingsleep is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chipset clips on motherboard - reattach? Jayce Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-22-2010 01:55 AM
Do I need to get a new motherboard with different chipset? freezer System Upgrades 7 03-07-2009 10:22 PM
motherboard chipset Dunadan1821 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 07-01-2004 08:14 AM
Updating Motherboard chipset drivers Ugly JC Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-01-2004 05:06 PM
MSI nForce2 400 Chipset Motherboard pc_boy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-20-2004 11:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.