Motherboard - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2007, 06:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Motherboard

Not a bad deal there.

As long as your new case has seven slots in the back for add-on cards (well, six or seven), then it will hold an ATX board.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 06:39 PM   #22 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Motherboard

number 1 and 8 looked really good.
I just didnt have a converter...so i coudlnt really compare it to here, but i have a vague idea.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 07:53 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Motherboard

slots in the back meaning the large long slots currently covered with a metal cover in each one? if thats the case i have seven!
slyfxsi is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 11:48 AM   #24 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Motherboard

Seven = ATX. Basically, you can use any standard motherboard.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 05:06 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Motherboard

okay! i purchased the new motherboard ABIT IL9 Pro S775
with an INTEL dual core E6600, and a gig of ram, do i now just swap everything over old for new! any tips or advice?
And how much memory does vista take up?
slyfxsi is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Motherboard

you will need 2 or 3 gb for vista
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Motherboard

okay vista seems the way to go for future proofing!
Just a quick, stupid! but important question!! just realised that my new motherboard a ABIT IL9 Pro S775, does not have "an onboard vga" does this mean theres no way of connecting it to my screen?
slyfxsi is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:31 PM   #28 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by slyfxsi View Post
okay vista seems the way to go for future proofing!
Just a quick, stupid! but important question!! just realised that my new motherboard a ABIT IL9 Pro S775, does not have "an onboard vga" does this mean theres no way of connecting it to my screen?
There is a way. And that is getting a graphic card.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:41 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
There is a way. And that is getting a graphic card.
thats right.. get a discrete graphics card, since you were willing to settle with integrated.. an 8500gt is fine... or maybe a 2400pro or 2400xt
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 07:00 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Motherboard

okay, lets slow down a bit for me! haha so what kind of graphics card do i need? in lamens terms that is! kinda new at all this!
__________________

slyfxsi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something is Faling, motherboard, CPU or HDD? HELP!! ChuckHCash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 05:52 PM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
Upgrading motherboard, processor and RAM Uberg New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-03-2007 07:03 PM
it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-03-2007 01:02 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.