Which Motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2006, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28
Default Which Motherboard?

I traded my DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert for a Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe reciently and I was wondering if I made a good choice. My processor is an Athlon 64 X2 4400+. I do enjoy pushing this to it's limits, but I also enjoy stability. The guy I traded with would trade back at any time.

So to my Question:

Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe or DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert?

blenderbeta is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

ASUS only becuase the Expert is known to be very buggy in some cases...

The Asus 32-SLI-Delux is a rock solid Motherboard.


May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28

What are the pros and cons of the ASUS?

What are the pros and cons of the DFI?
blenderbeta is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996

Asus is pretty stable as he said and will work in overclocks and does pretty well for both intel and amd [in you'r case its an amd compitable so.. amd lol] , But sometimes it has problems with extra options, asus likes to lock what they find as 'un-needed' in some mobos to prevent the end-user from ruining his rig [its a good thing but bad at once, anyway its not like it in all of their mobos.... Gigabyte are though lol.. stupid gigabyte are control freaks]

the dfi has a name for overclockers, as i did not own one in my life i can't give an exact opinion over it, just what i heard is that the DFI brand mobo's usualy enable you to use the limits of every part of you'r rig [but thats only if you'r an overclocker lol]

And as he said... it's pretty buggy at times.....
Yoad is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 11:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28

Would I be able to operate faster and handel more load with the dfi over the asus?
blenderbeta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.