Most motherboards dont support hard drives over 137gigs ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Most motherboards dont support hard drives over 137gigs ?

I need to buy a new hard drive. Im looking at another segate probably a 250 gig one. But some reviews on newegg are saying that most mother boards cant support drives over 137 gigs. Is this true. And if it is will mine support one. I have an asus a8n-sli premium board.
__________________

Saint71 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Windows XP doesn't like drives over 137gb's. I'm not too clued up on software, but you will need windows XP with SP2 to have a bigger drive, or partition the drive into smaller sections.

The motherboard has nothing to do with it.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

There's a sticky on this in the troubleshooting forum
137gb Barrier:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=79821

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Your fine with that mobo.
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 11:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

its a new mobo...you shouldint have a problem
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.