Most future-ready CPU socket? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2007, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 142
Default Most future-ready CPU socket?

Which CPU socket will last the longest for upgrades in the future?
__________________

jeller is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

There is not "most future-ready CPU socket". I'd assume one that will be around for a couple more years is the LGA775 and the AM2 socket.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

Hey jeller



From my understanding LGA775 will last around for a couple more years.

From AMD's side, I think they will make an AM3 socket, but their CPUs I heard, will be backwards compatible with AM2 sockets.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Angry Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
From my understanding LGA775 will last around for a couple more years.

From AMD's side, I think they will make an AM3 socket, but their CPUs I heard, will be backwards compatible with AM2 sockets.
well they could have done that with 939 and AM2
Nick is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
well they could have done that with 939 and AM2
They couldn't, because AM2 has one more pin than 939.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
From my understanding LGA775 will last around for a couple more years.

From AMD's side, I think they will make an AM3 socket, but their CPUs I heard, will be backwards compatible with AM2 sockets.
since AM2's will be backwards compatible like b1gapl said... keep AM2 on the list... and we know Socket 775 will lastfor a while...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
They couldn't, because AM2 has one more pin than 939.
i know but actauly it wouldn't work out for me becuase AM2 is newer than 939, meaning 939 would work on Am2 but not the other way round (im saying that imagining that they had the same amount of pins)
Nick is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
well they could have done that with 939 and AM2
No, they couldn't. 939 uses DDR which is 184 pins. AM2 uses DDR2 which is 240pins. DDR3 also uses 240 pins. Since the controller is on the CPU, you can use either one.


The AM2+ may last the longest. The LGA 775 socket will most likely be dropped when Intel follows AMD's memory controller idea.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 11:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
No, they couldn't. 939 uses DDR which is 184 pins. AM2 uses DDR2 which is 240pins. DDR3 also uses 240 pins. Since the controller is on the CPU, you can use either one.


The AM2+ may last the longest. The LGA 775 socket will most likely be dropped when Intel follows AMD's memory controller idea.
I agree.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 05:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Most future-ready CPU socket?

guys i wasnt being serious, i was just saying that they god i dunno made dont worry
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu Hookster264 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-11-2007 01:25 AM
I need help finding my prossesor socket..... optimuscrime791 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-13-2007 01:01 AM
What do you think guys? Future plans Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 20 05-30-2007 04:25 PM
socket 939 and AM2 Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-28-2007 11:08 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.