Most effective way to power up naked laptop/desktop harddrives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2007, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Most effective way to power up naked laptop/desktop harddrives?

Hey all,

I work for an IT firm for my university and I've been asked to create a display for general orientation regarding what laptop/desktop hard drives look like in general. Also, I am to show what a dying harddrive sounds like (clicking, etc). I've got the harddrives I need however, how do I go about powering up these two naked drives? I'm not too savvy with computer electrics so if anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it .


Sivok is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 04:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Most effective way to power up naked laptop/desktop harddrives?

*cough*Failure im joking

take a power supply and and hook it up to the desktop HD power plug and jump start the power supply with a paper clip by touching the green +5v and any ground cable (Black) , to make the HD click simply open her up and twist the head that reads the disk (dont twist it too much or the disk wont spin)

for the laptop HD your going to have to find the schematics to power her up with a power supply

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Most effective way to power up naked laptop/desktop harddrives?

The green line coming from the PSU is actually called the PSU_ON line. When its shorted with a ground black line, it turns on and give out power. Just thought you needed clarification.

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 10:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 08:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 04:27 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 01:28 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.