More questions... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2007, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default More questions...

A few more questions...

1. Assuming that you have enough wall/power strip plugs, can you hook your internals up to two different PSU's?

2. What do different things hook up to? I mean, fans go to 3-pin/4-pin, mobo uses the 20/24/20+4 pin, but where do the others go?

3. I'm planning on getting a floppy drive when I put my system together; What connectors does it use? Data and power. Thanks! Link , not sure if all floppy drives operate the same.

One last question; Can I boot from a External (USB) Floppy drive? Or is that an impossibility?
__________________

Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orono
Posts: 67
Default Re: More questions...

I'm not sure about the first two questions with dual PSU's, but as far as a floppy drive.

They are all the same, all PSU come with a connector, its a little four pin connector. The data requires a floppy cable, its similar to an IDE cable but has a twist in it and has four less pins.

Booting off an external floppy drive should be possible, though I've never tried, as long as your motherboard supports booting from USB devices.
__________________

jebathan is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: More questions...

Yes, you can use two PSUs.

Booting from a USB floppy drive depends on the BIOS (Same will, some won't)
turtile is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: More questions...

So, I could get two of these, and I wouldn't have any problems using both of those, even if one of the 24-pin connectors weren't attached to a PSU?

Can anyone tell me if the bios for the Gigabyte S3 Series (DS3, S3, etc...) supports booting from USB?
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: More questions...

Don't get two of those...the smart power isn't that good I think. Yes you can use two PSU if you really want but I would suggest getting 2 FSP 400w's and using them as they are plenty of enough watts, better, and cheaper.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: More questions...

FSP Has a more inexpensive modular PSU? iF that's the case, I'll gladly take it; I need to save every penny possible. My parents say that if I can manage all A's for my semester grades, I can put this whole thing together this June!!!
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: More questions...

I would get a single one of these before two PSU's. These have the best modular system out there, perform well, and at a great price. 2 PSU's are hard to work with unless the case supports it.

Newegg.com - HIPER HPU-4K580-MS ATX12V v2.2 580W Power Supply 100 - 120V - Retail

Since you want modular..that modular is awesome.

Also heh Keeping all A's is really hard for me...heh College Trig stops that for me...but i hope you can get them if you get a new PC man.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: More questions...

Yeah, I'm on the fast-track at my school; I'll be taking Algebra 2 next year (9th Grade), but my semester grade in Hnrs. Geometry is vital... So are the rest of my core classes, and since Spanish I is easy at my school, and my only other elective is Library Aide, which I don't recieve a grade in, I just need to make sure I turn in all my work...

That's easier said than done for me; Everything comes easy for me, but I've probably set a new record in "Highest Level of Disorganization"... Getting better, though ^.^
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: More questions...

I would only use dual PSU if I were running a demanding system.

Go with Corsair:
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
turtile is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: More questions...

Heh the fast track...yea I suck at math but I was in spanish 4 my sophomore year...i'm in AP now.

Regardless understand that it only gets harder and it is almost twice as hard to mainstain 4.0's and stuff in HS.....back on track it all depends on how powerful of a system you will be getting on which PSU you will need.


The Corasir he suggested is amazing but very powerful and I doubt you would need one.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server questions uzi9mm Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-29-2007 06:00 AM
Ipod Questions? tbsk8er04 Apple and Mac 5 03-26-2007 09:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.