Monitor Upgrade. - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2015, 03:26 PM   #51 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Type of panel.

Also not as good as the Acer.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 04:36 PM   #52 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

ah damn... well i have 3 now... friend of mine ordered 3 for me... meh.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 04:56 PM   #53 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Type of panel.

Also not as good as the Acer.
That is a preference and mostly determined by the monitors application and by user sensibility. (they might get nauseous by the smoothness of higher refresh rates)

TN panels have better response times. Good for professional or competitive gaming but have poor color and poor viewing angles. Because they're faster most high refresh rate panels are TN panels. Such as the Asus VG series or the BenQ XL and RL series.

IPS have real-to-life color gamuts but poor response times. Good for the graphics designer, video editor or anyone into multimedia or web design.

While it is possible to find IPS panels that are high refresh, low response, and real-to-life colors but they get very costly. Example -IPS 4ms response, 144hz, 27" ~650$ o.o ... I can only drool lol

Average users can get away with ~6ms response time without feeling the delay. But if you play competitive and you have a very honed sense for these things you will want to get a faster panel.

I can speak from the experience of feeling it. I have over 2500 hours in CS:GO, currently an LEM, and about 1k of those hours were on a 6ms/60hz panel.. the other 1.5k hours were on the Asus VG series panel and WOW.. the 144hz at 1ms response is phenominal. At lans people drool over it when I let them try it out and when I try theirs - I cant stand it.
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 06:07 PM   #54 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

The Acer panel is 6ms 60hz and IPS. The panels in question were all 6ms or lower and 60hz but the kicker is the Acer has DP. He has a single 970 which has DVI, HDMI, and 2 DP. As convenient as adapters are they can be a pain and an eyesore in the back of a PC. Plus, as much as I dislike lower end Acer monitors for their quality, AOC is a cheaper brand than even Acer. He's on a budget and I'm going to assume a casual gamer. He won't notice the difference between 1ms and 6ms.

The biggest difference you're going to notice is 144 to 60, not the response time. Even if you're a twitch gamer. I owned an ROG Swift and went to a 60hz 4k display. What I miss is the 144hz but as a casual gamer it's not that big of a deal. I just stopped playing BF4. What I enjoy more is better blacks and no backlight bleed compared to the TN panel as in darker games that I play like Stalker or Metro it makes a difference.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 06:27 PM   #55 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Well, i have 3 of Iiyama Prolite E2482HD-B1 24" Full HD Monitor at Ebuyer coming tomorrow.... ah well... :|
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 07:27 PM   #56 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Dude that monitor doesn't even have HDMI or DP.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 07:30 PM   #57 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Has DVI....lol. *shrugs*
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 04:12 AM   #58 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

But does he have 3 DVI outputs on his system??? Might be a little tough to connect all 3 with such limited connections.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 05:48 AM   #59 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
But does he have 3 DVI outputs on his system??? Might be a little tough to connect all 3 with such limited connections.
Thats why they invented adaptors :P Lol.

the 3 monitors have just arrived... will post a pic of the new setup sometime tomorrow, if not sunday.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP, emergency monitor upgrade, i repeat emergency monitor upgrade!! Joeyboy System Upgrades 5 09-02-2008 02:17 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
to upgrade or to not upgrade? liquidmonkey New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-13-2006 11:41 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM
MONITOR MONITOR MONITOR (gaming) eatbutt Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 06-04-2005 04:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.