Monitor Upgrade. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2015, 04:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Monitor Upgrade.

So in the next month or so, i'm going to be looking at buying 3 new monitors to have a triple setup.

I'm looking for 3 monitors around the 22-24" range, hopefully widescreen also.

What would you guys suggest? Possibly £100 or less per 1.

Any advice would be great.

*EDIT* Just noticed i posted this is the wrong section. Please can someone move it for me. Sorry!
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 06:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,305
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Are you wanting this for gaming or productivity?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 06:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Gaming mostly. I'm currently using a VGA monitor... lol
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 06:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,305
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

If you're wanting to game in Surround (using all 3 monitors at once) you'll need a better graphics setup. When I get to work I'll hit the UK shops and see what I can find for you. So give me an hour or so.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 06:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If you're wanting to game in Surround (using all 3 monitors at once) you'll need a better graphics setup. When I get to work I'll hit the UK shops and see what I can find for you. So give me an hour or so.
Alright, thanks. I'll most probably just play games on the middle screen, and use the other 2 for other programs etc. But gaming on the 3 monitors, would probably happen also.

*EDIT*. I asked you about fans in an old thread of mine if you remember. i really want to change the loud fans on the h100i gtx. you mentioned the corsair AP fans, would the sp120's not be better? or is that what i am already running? :-s
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 07:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,305
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Gaming in Surround with a single card is almost impossible unless you're willing to sacrifice settings. Otherwise you'll need a second card.

The fans that come with the H100i are basically just stock Corsair fans but a performance version. I suggest using Corsair Link and putting those on Quiet Mode. I've been using the Noctua iPPC 2000s to replace the junk Phanteks fans in the case and they are doing great. I suggest getting at least 2 of those and putting them as exhaust and intake. If that plus putting the H100i in quiet mode doesn't work then think about replacing those fans.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 07:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Gaming in Surround with a single card is almost impossible unless you're willing to sacrifice settings. Otherwise you'll need a second card.

The fans that come with the H100i are basically just stock Corsair fans but a performance version. I suggest using Corsair Link and putting those on Quiet Mode. I've been using the Noctua iPPC 2000s to replace the junk Phanteks fans in the case and they are doing great. I suggest getting at least 2 of those and putting them as exhaust and intake. If that plus putting the H100i in quiet mode doesn't work then think about replacing those fans.
Yeah, it's in quiet mode now. I do have a corsair SP 140 L.E.D fan coming to replace the back fan. I shall take a look at the Noctua iPPC 2000. Thanks.

So a single GTX 970 wouldn't run 3 monitors for gaming? :O What a waste of £280. :-s
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 08:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,305
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

That Corsair SP won't push as much air as an AF-14. With a stock CPU I'm not sure how your stuff could get loud. I have mine in quiet mode at 4.4GHz and 2 extra cores but the fans almost never ramp up during game play. More than likely those stock fans aren't pushing any flow through your case.

Of course it won't. That's like expecting a single 970 to push a 4k screen. It's really high resolution.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 08:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Of course it won't. That's like expecting a single 970 to push a 4k screen. It's really high resolution.
Hey now, a 970 could probably push Oblivion at 4K :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 08:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,305
Default Re: Monitor Upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Hey now, a 970 could probably push Oblivion at 4K :P
Hmm idk. Not with my mods lol.

Asus VS247NR 23.6" Full HD LED Monitor - Scan.co.uk
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP, emergency monitor upgrade, i repeat emergency monitor upgrade!! Joeyboy System Upgrades 5 09-02-2008 02:17 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
to upgrade or to not upgrade? liquidmonkey New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-13-2006 11:41 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM
MONITOR MONITOR MONITOR (gaming) eatbutt Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 06-04-2005 04:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.