Monitor screen colour flicking help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2006, 05:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default Monitor screen colour flicking help!

About a few weeks ago I oc'ed my video card [which is a geforce 6600LE] without any problems, but recently [all this week] my monitor keeps going from dark to bright and the colour flicks until then it returns back to its original colour[s], sometimes it stays really bright or dark and I have to use the auto-image button on my monitor..
I'm just wondering what can be causing this, is it my oc'ed video card or could it be something else, this monitor is 3 years old and it's a slimview 15inch.

Thanks
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i know when the video card is under stress it'll start to artifact.. but this sounds like it might be the monitor itself... bring your video card back to default and see if it still happens.. if it still happens, then its your monitor and there's really nothing you can do to fix it... if it stops, then that means you OC'd your card too much, you gotta find the sweetspot b/w performance, and non-artifacting
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

When the picture is dark bring up the menu on your monitor. If the menu is dark also, it's your monitor's fault. If the menu is fine but the picture is dark, then it's your card's fault. This way you dont have to change anything with your card, only hit a button.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 07:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Returned the card back to default and monitor still flicks, opened up the menu screen when monitor flicked to a red colour and it was normal..

This just occured to me, could it be that the card isn't perfectly fitted into the slot? The card uses a pci-e slot.
Willeh is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 07:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

wouldn't hurt to check... its still unclear what the problem is.. but since the onscreen menu works.. it would seem like its the gpu, although its not 100% guaranteed...


is there a way you can test out your monitor or video card? either with a second video card or a second monitor..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 08:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Not really no. I'll open up my pc and give it a check, are there any programs which can check this kind of stuff?
Willeh is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 11:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Sounds like a bad cable.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.