Monitor for my 360/computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2008, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Monitor for my 360/computer

I want to get rid of my crt and get a new lcd monitor. I am thinking of getting a 24" widescreen, probably samsung. I want to know will my 360 look better with the resolution 1920x1200 or 19201080?
__________________

__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 05:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 42
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

At 24 inches it will be pretty much impossible to tell the difference between 1920x1200 and 19201080. Keep in mind that when the Xbox runs at 1080p it is really just upscaling the image which further negates the difference between the two resolutions. If the cost between the two monitors are the same I would pick up the 1920x1200 for a slightly sharper computer image, but if the 1920x1200 costs more then just a few dollars more then the 19201080 then I would just forget it and grab the cheaper model.
__________________

Xarulsis is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 07:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

look up experiences of other Xbox 360 users on the net there are tons of reviews and pointers out there not to mention forums where exact models can be related to there effectiveness at the crossover. Per example my monitor has 3 revisions for the OSD bios/ software only revision 3 supports full screen xbox 360 playback the second revision runs at 16.9 which results in the black bars top and bottom as mine is 16.10 natively and the original version puts black bars top and bottom and plays at 720p right in the centre.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

Is there a converter out there so I can use my component hookups to connect to either dvi or hdmi? I want to hook my component hookups to the monitor and then hook up my audio cables to my computer speakers.
__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 02:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

Yes its called an xga box and costs around 40
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 06:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

When i used to play for dignitas on the 360 team at lans they had 22" monitors at 1920x1080 and apparantly it is the best for gaming however i really doubt that there would be much differance so go for the cheaper one.
Sami. Smith is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

Its not better at 1920x1080 its just native pixel 1:1 ratio in other words the xbox upscales and provides the source at that resolution.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

yea well no need for the detail :P....
Sami. Smith is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 08:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
jesspren6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 266
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

I think im gonna get this monitor for christmas: Newegg.com - Acer H213H bmid Black 21.5" 5ms HDMI Widescreen 16:9 Full HD 1080P LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 ACM 20000:1 Built in Speakers - LCD Monitors I cant use the xga box with the monitor because that is just for regular rca hookups, I want to use component for higher detail to run it in 1080p. How good would the quality be with that microsoft adapter to vga, because I know that people have used it and used the 1080p setting with their monitor. Newegg.com - Microsoft Xbox 360 VGA HD AV Cable
__________________
Make easy money by joining http://cashcrate.com/185982 and doing surveys. 100% free and doesn't require a credit card.
jesspren6 is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 11:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Monitor for my 360/computer

Providing its shorter then 1.5metres the anlogue cable should give an image of great quality.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.