Monitor color - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2008, 06:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default Monitor color

My computer monitor takes at least 2 -3 hours time to get to its proper color. Within few seconds of switching on the computer, the screen turns into a glowing light and nothing can be seen on the screen. If I leave the computer at this stage for a minimum of 2 hours, it sometimes regains its actual color but sometimes stays the same. At times tapping on it works but sometimes just for few seconds only and it becomes white again. Do I need to replace the monitor or the problem can be fixed otherwise?
__________________

andrew18 is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor color

tapping on the monitor sometimes helps? if that is the case then the monitor is obviously the problem and i would replace it.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Monitor color

Is replacement the only solution? Can I get it repaired? My engineer is out of station thus I was looking for some advice or remote help.
andrew18 is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Monitor color

^repairing it would probably cost a lot, so it would be better off getting a new monitor all together.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 09:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Monitor color

It seems you have to replace it. I would suggest you to wait for your engineer as remote help would not work in this case else simply buy a new monitor. Also you can seek help from the television technicians and need not wait for your hardware engineer.
burman is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Monitor color

it's like fixing a tv vs buying new...cheaper these days to buy new
and looks to be a sign of emminent monitor death
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.