Is the monitor the cause of my problems? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2009, 08:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

That looks like a cool graphics card for a good price. Only problem is that they recommend a 450 watt power supply; mine is 300 watt, plus I will be overclocking my CPU.


Does the computer monitor hooked up to HDMI make the game look much better?
__________________

explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by explorer7 View Post
That looks like a cool graphics card for a good price. Only problem is that they recommend a 450 watt power supply; mine is 300 watt, plus I will be overclocking my CPU.
Then you will also need to upgrade your power supply. Look for something in the Antec Earthwatts range, for example this:

Newegg.com - Antec earthwatts EA500 500W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.0 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

Or for $10 less this would be just as good
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies


Quote:
Does the computer monitor hooked up to HDMI make the game look much better?
It doesn't make games specifically better, but it does carry an overall better image quality.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Ok, now what about this:

450 Watt or greater power supply with 75 Watt 6-pin PCI Express power connector recommended
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by explorer7 View Post
Ok, now what about this:

450 Watt or greater power supply with 75 Watt 6-pin PCI Express power connector recommended
What about it? Both those power supplies meet those requirements. In fact the Antec I linked has two.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Seeing as this is a prebuilt (or so I believe), have you upgraded the motherboard? If not, chances of actually overclocking the processor, is slim to none.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Yes the motherboard is stock. How can I tell if if it overclockable or not?
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by explorer7 View Post
Ok, now what about this:

450 Watt or greater power supply with 75 Watt 6-pin PCI Express power connector recommended
It's really not about the watts, it's about the amps on the +12 volt rail. I would be looking for something 25+ amps on the +12. and i know the Antec Earthwatts will hit that.
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 12:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by explorer7 View Post
Yes the motherboard is stock. How can I tell if if it overclockable or not?
You have an ECS 945GCT-M3. It has a Clock Ratio adjustment, but most people haven't had any luck actually getting the option to show (probably because of a BIOS update, or Manufacturer's edited BIOS.). To overclock your processor, you'd need a new motherboard. I have no idea on what good Intel boards are, but if you do want a new motherboard, look into either the G31/G35 or P43/P45 chipsets, as I've heard decent things about those, and they usually pop up in this forum.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 03:21 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

I have an Intel Dual Core E2140 which runs at 1.6 ghz at usual 40 degrees Celsius. I usually judge based all CPUs based on the GHz number alone. So that is how I concluded that mine wasn't very good at only 1.6 GHz. Is this right?
__________________

explorer7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many Problems With Comp Doorknob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-15-2009 08:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.