Is the monitor the cause of my problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2009, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

I have a Gateway monitor that has a lame resolution of 1024x768. It has a refresh rate of 60 hertz. I also have a GeForce 8500 GT, and an Intel Core Duo which runs at 1.6 ghz. I read in another article on this site that the monitor can be the cause of my problems, which are that my computer displays most video games with jagged edges, and it can't run any dynamic lighting at all or it lags. Some games it has a hard time running are Ghost Recon Advance Warfighter 2, and Stalker: Shadow of Chernobyl. The dynamic lighting is the biggest problem. Could my monitor be the cause of this?
__________________

explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

No, your monitor is definitely not the cause. The 8500GT is not designed for gaming, which will be why you cannot run your games with dynamic lighting or anti-aliasing (AA gets rid of the jagged edges you describe).

If you want to be able to run your games with good lighting and AA, then you'll need to upgrade your graphics card.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Any suggestions? I have decided to just upgrade my graphics card, and overclock my CPU. I'm looking to spend $150 at the most. Is that enough money? I understand that I can not get the best graphics card out there, but I want something that can run games that are one or two years old and high settings.



I don't get it, how can I have a graphics card, Geforce 8500GT, that cost $110 dollars and it is not made for gaming? Or did you mean to say that it was not meant for serious gaming?
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Different video cards have different power requirements. What is the make and model of your existing power supply so we can try to figure what's available in your budget range.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

did you buy that card recently? it might have been worth $100 sometime ago, not sure how long ago. but for that amount now, you could get a good 4850, but it would probably get bottlenecked by your cpu.

and you are also limited by your psu, like said above.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by explorer7 View Post
I don't get it, how can I have a graphics card, Geforce 8500GT, that cost $110 dollars and it is not made for gaming? Or did you mean to say that it was not meant for serious gaming?
How long ago was it when you bought it? You can now buy an 8500GT on NewEgg for $40 shipped (though nearly all of them are now deactivated, it's a fairly old card).

And when I say gaming, the 8500GT is alright for actually playing games that came out a year or so before it did. It wasn't meant for gaming when it was released, and that was three years ago. The 8600 and 8800 (and various versions of the 8800) were the gaming cards of the 8*** series.

For comparison, look at our graphics card rankings page:
Graphics card Rankings

The 6800GT, which was in my old computer and could just about play Oblivion on low at your resolution, is ranked higher. And it's two years older, from a tech standpoint.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

Here are the specifications on my computer, which is all stock except for the graphics card. Scroll down to the see the power supply information.:

???????????????????????


For some reason 3 results came up in the power supply section.
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

I bought it in September of 2007, which is a long time ago.
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

The card has been recertified but it's priced good.
Newegg.com - Recertified: XFX HD485XYDF Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power RS550-PCARE3-US 550W ATX12V V2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply - Power Supplies

Or for a few dollars more you can just get a new one
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Of course after this upgrade you'll be wanting a bigger monitor next
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Is the monitor the cause of my problems?

don't forget the double warentee on xfx cards! Even refurbed ones!
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many Problems With Comp Doorknob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-15-2009 08:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.