monitor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2007, 08:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Default monitor?

i put a magnet next to my screen, and now it has a weird blob on the side. how do i fix it?
__________________

pepsimax is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: monitor?

Does it go away when you move the magnet??

BTW, fix your sig dude.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: monitor?

ROFL oh dude, your screen is fcuked.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: monitor?

What in the world, would make you do such a thing? I hope it wasn't out of curiosity.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: monitor?

If it is a CRT it shouldnt be permanent. I had speakers next to an old CRT and it went all crazy and colourful in the corner but it was fine when i took it away.

Its just physics; in CRTs electrons are fired from the rear of the box onto the back of the glass and the colour you see is formed by, you guessed it, magnets! So puttting a magnet next to it pulls the electrons along a warped path and gives you some weird colours. It shouldnt be permanent unless you screw up the monitors magnets at its rear.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: monitor?

It would also depend on the strength of the magnet, he used. But I doubt it, that he'd have such a strong magnet.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: monitor?

thats great fun you can make some really warped pictures with magnets.... has your monitor got an OSD setting that refreshes the magnet at the rear
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My monitor with the xbox 360 dwaynesox Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 10-16-2007 11:32 PM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM
Monitor resetting Screamsalvation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 07-30-2007 03:58 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.