Modified Build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2007, 08:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Modified Build

For the ethernet... run it under the house. you will have to drill two small holes (of course), but you can seal them with silicone afterwards. Run the wire along the floor joists and tack it up with wire hangers (you can improvise with wire clothes hangers if you have to).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Modified Build

I'm not sure what you mean by floor joists, but my dad already knows that I have a room-renovating plan going on over the summer, so I'll ask him if that's a possibility

Thanks!

D'you think I should just spend the extra $9 and get a cheap wireless card, just in case I ever need one?
__________________

Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Modified Build

$9? Why not...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Modified Build

Don't expect any miracles from Vista SP1.
SP1 for XP didn't come with anything special. Neither did SP2. The only reason I am using XP SP2 is because it has native USB 2.0 support (which can easily be installed seperately on XP without SP's).

The only real incompatability issue I had in had in XP vs XP SP2 was some video programs like Adobe Premiere refusing to work. Everything else works fine, and there is no difference in stability or anything.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Modified Build

Okay, then I'll keep the wireless, unless the inexpensive version disappears

Major, isn't the Vista SP1 supposed to contain a bunch of extra drivers? That's the only thing I was concerned about; The glitches don't seem to be major ones. If you could show me one, I think I'd probably reconsider.


EDIT: Oh, and by the way, Trotter; Don't worry about the Folding, I plan on leaving my PC on during the day (Not during the night, though; I don't like the noise.), so that it can do F@H while I'm at school; I don't like F@H running while I'm using it, it adds to my (already cluttered) taskbar... However, that is a good 35 hours of folding a week!

...Wow, if I sold off 35 hours of processing, I could make a pretty penny...
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Modified Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellothar121 View Post
Okay, then I'll keep the wireless, unless the inexpensive version disappears

Major, isn't the Vista SP1 supposed to contain a bunch of extra drivers? That's the only thing I was concerned about; The glitches don't seem to be major ones. If you could show me one, I think I'd probably reconsider.
It probably will, but you should use the latest third party versions anyways. The only way the lack of drivers can cause any pain is in the case of SATA drivers (which are needed to install Windows).
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM
Looking for comments on a new build for a newbie mar20 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-14-2007 10:51 PM
Suggest a Mobo and Processor For What I Want to build spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-10-2007 01:10 AM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 06:13 PM
New Build montdj New Systems | Building and Buying 21 03-28-2007 08:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.