Modified Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2007, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Modified Build

Okay, I've taken suggestions from a few boards (this being the most prominent; I've been pulling alot of advice from here.), and I need to have someone okay/improve this before I show my mom; She says that if I pull off perfect scores this 9-weeks (more importantly, this semester), then I can build my PC over the summer.

I'm trying to keep the prices low, so that I can buy more at once, so please keep that a factor when you post

CLICK HERE to see my list.

EDIT: I have a keyboard/mouse/monitor, so that's a non-issue
__________________

Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Modified Build

get xp not vista
also try to aim for a 120gb hd
the floppy drive is useles now adays, but a flash stick instead
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Modified Build

Sorry, forgot to mention those things; Those're actually the two things I wanted to say something about.

I wanted to get an 80GB 'cause I'm only going to have the OS and programs on it; I'm planning on getting another 160 or 250GB HDD sometime in the near future.

The Floppy Drive is for flashing the BIOS, installing drivers, etc. I don't know about you, but I don't have a spare FDD lying around anywhere

Why not Vista? I've heard a few kinks that need to be worked out, but from what I've gathered, the stuff that I have works okay with Vista x32...

EDIT: ALso, I just remembered that I have a 30GB USB Hard Drive (From an Old laptop that broke >_>) and it has XP on it. I'm not sure if that will work with it, but if it does, I might just boot from that if Vista needs to wait for a service pack.
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Modified Build

A laptop hard drive won't work in a desktop. I'm not 100% sure. Plus, the XP on it, will only recognize, the laptop, it was installed on.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Modified Build

umm....the laptop harddrive could work, he said its usb, so most new mobo's support boot from usb. if possible, do you have a spare xp or even 2k disk laying around? id put that on the usb hdd, and have vista on the internal. and if a problem arises with vista, boot from the usb, and just use that till the kink is worked out.

id still say wait on vista until sp1 comes out, which im sure will be within the next few months.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 05-09-2007, 08:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Modified Build

Unfortunately, I don't have a spare XP Disc; Infact, the only one I had (The restoration disk for the laptop I'm currently using) got a hair-breadth crack right down the middle; It goes halfway to the center (Not all the way to the opening, though...)

I don't plan on finishing the build until early July; I'm going to order 3 or 4 of the 13 things I need a week, and put it all together 2nd week of July, if everything works out right
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 05-09-2007, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Modified Build

yea a restoration disk would not work anyways, because they are literally hard coded to that specific system model.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 07:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Modified Build

So, with the exception of my OS, FDD, and HDD (Unless there are better deals elsewhere), Could I get a stamp of approval from anyone?


Thanks!
~Ello
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 07:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Modified Build

My two cents:

Forget the wireless and go with a wire.

Get a bigger drive to begin with and partition it. you can transfer the partition to a separate drive later.

Go with XP for now, unless you just have to have Vista. Too many things just aren't ready with Vista. Maybe after they get a service pack out...

7600GS will work, but go for something better if you can. The X1600's, X1800's, and X1900's can be used to Fold (hint, hint).

Unless you just love the way the XION looks, you can save a little by getting a case without a PSU that you are going to just throw away anyway. The CoolerMaster Centurions are cheap and good.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Modified Build

I'm going to try to wire myself in, but I need wireless; I'm in the corner of my house, so the only type of wire I'd be able to reach to my room is the 100m type, and it doesn't look pretty; I used to have a giant phone cable running along the ceiling. We don't have in-ground ethernet (Yet...).

I didn't think about the partition idea; I think I'll go with the 160GB Western Digital Caviar, in that case

Vista isn't a necessity, but I don't feel like having to upgrade 3 months into finally finishing my PC, when SP1 DOES come out, and I have to install a new OS.

I don't mind not having the XION, but I don't think the Centurion is the right case for me; Something with a good airflow:noise ratio, lots of lights in the front, a front panel to cover up the Optical Drives when they're not opened, and preferably a side-panel window (though that's not a necessity, if it looks okay without it.).

Thanks!
~Ello

P.S. Okay, time to go look through the bargain rack at NewEgg; gonna find a better case >__>

EDIT: I just did a Power Search, and I didn't find anything that I liked better than the XION. Does anyone know if there's a better deal for it, anywhere?
__________________

Ellothar121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM
Looking for comments on a new build for a newbie mar20 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-14-2007 10:51 PM
Suggest a Mobo and Processor For What I Want to build spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-10-2007 01:10 AM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 06:13 PM
New Build montdj New Systems | Building and Buying 21 03-28-2007 08:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.