Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2010, 06:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
What if I get a different i5 board? That wouldn't hurt me too bad.
If you don't mind mucking about with/reinstalling Windows then you could do that but do you really need a board with more features?
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
If you don't mind mucking about with/reinstalling Windows then you could do that but do you really need a board with more features?
is there no way he can create an Image of his system?
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

Pretty sure the image target machine(s) need to have the same hardware as the source machine. That and the fact that Windows OEM license only applies to one motherboard. New motherboard = new license.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

I'm pretty sure you can use DriverSweeper, get all the drivers out, and put it on the new board.

I've heard it being done, but it'd be risky, no?

Edit: And mine is Retail.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 07:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

It is risky to do so, but, Windows tend to be somewhat forgiving when it comes to changing motherboards, but it DOES usually depend upon your license.

Just to be on the safe side, you should back up your data (I swear this is a redundant phrase anymore around here).

If possible, in safe mode, remove ALL drivers, and anything specific to your hardware that you currently use. You can then try to swap in the different board, and attempt a REPAIR INSTALL, in other words, have windows repair it self, and you *should* be able to get in to install the new drivers.

OEM systems are for the most part ok with this, and VL systems don't usually have issues with this, but, I am sure there is a license type out there somewhere that would have a sissy fit.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 07:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

Thanks, cOrrOsive. I thought that is what it was. As a precaution, I always back up. I do it monthly
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 09:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPROTechman View Post
is there no way he can create an Image of his system?
No. That will carry over his current drivers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Pretty sure the image target machine(s) need to have the same hardware as the source machine. That and the fact that Windows OEM license only applies to one motherboard. New motherboard = new license.
Exactly. It will require a reinstall.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I'm pretty sure you can use DriverSweeper, get all the drivers out, and put it on the new board.

I've heard it being done, but it'd be risky, no?

Edit: And mine is Retail.
Driver Sweeper only gets rid of video drivers and stuff like that. It would not get rid of the core drivers, like chipset drivers which are used by the mobo to communicate with the OS. You change the mobo which is different than the current one, Windows 99.9% of the time will not boot and require reinstall.
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
It is risky to do so, but, Windows tend to be somewhat forgiving when it comes to changing motherboards, but it DOES usually depend upon your license.

Just to be on the safe side, you should back up your data (I swear this is a redundant phrase anymore around here).

If possible, in safe mode, remove ALL drivers, and anything specific to your hardware that you currently use. You can then try to swap in the different board, and attempt a REPAIR INSTALL, in other words, have windows repair it self, and you *should* be able to get in to install the new drivers.

OEM systems are for the most part ok with this, and VL systems don't usually have issues with this, but, I am sure there is a license type out there somewhere that would have a sissy fit.
This was true back in XP days. But not any more. With the new setup with Microsoft saying new mobo = new license you darn tootin they have it setup to error out on mobo changes or someone could easily just swap their OEM hard drive out to a new machine without issues. Back in those days all you had to do was a repair install. Which you cant do now. Microsoft made it much harder when it comes to switching mobos. Vista and Win7 will not boot if the mobos are not exactly the same. If it does, it will run like uber crap.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 10:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

Interesting, I will have to try to find a way to solve this issue, do you know if thats anytime the motherboard is changed with the same model? Does it check for some type of identification of the motherboard?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 10:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mobo woes, move on or kick the bucket?

Isn't there a way to slipstream programs into Windows 7 to install automatically? I remember you could do this with XP.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 10:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

If it is the same make and model there wont be an issue. This will occur only when you change mobo's. So if you have an install with mobo "a" and switch it mobo "b" Vista/Win7 have a 99% chance they wont boot. If by the chance you do get it to boot, your are likely to get BSoD's very often as well as sluggish performance due to the fact that the drivers installed for the core components do not match.

Windows does a hardware profile, making note of mobo and other parts when it does an install. Which is why when you try to activate an OEM that do not match the parts used for the original OEM activation it wont pas validation and force you to call.

I dont know of the exact items it takes down in this profile, but i can bet you that it notes the mobo for just this reason. You will also have to note that the option to repair a Vista/Win7 has been removed. The only "trick" to getting this to work is to be able to boot to the OS in trouble, insert the disk and from there perform an "upgrade" install. But if you cant get to the OS at all, then this trick does nothing for you cause you wont be able to boot. Not to mention the fact that the "repair" install of Vista/Win7 doesnt preserve your settings or anything and takes you back to a default Win7 install is another thing. Cause you just performed an upgrade to the system. So you have to redo everything you had done previously.

So for the ability to switch mobo's and save your current install with Vista/Win7 is a long shot at best. I have seen it done, but 99% of the time people end up doing a full reinstall cause something isnt right. Cause the OS is corrupted before you do the upgrade install and after the upgrade things are not right. It is the same problem that has been seen since pre-XP days when performing upgrades. If anything is wrong before the upgrade starts, it carries over. Which is why it is always recommended to do a full install over an upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Isn't there a way to slipstream programs into Windows 7 to install automatically? I remember you could do this with XP.
Sadly no. There was a tool called nlite that you could do this with XP. There was a similar tool called vlite for Vista, but there is no tool that can be used to do it with Win7.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looks like the GTX 280 OCX is kicking the bucket :( Slam'n Systems Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-25-2010 12:42 PM
Router Going to Kick the Bucket? leonardmp92 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 06-14-2009 10:14 PM
Have to kick the habit JoshSB System Upgrades 8 08-02-2006 04:06 PM
Scum Bucket? Fefner Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-11-2004 03:54 AM
New Proc & Mobo woes BarbOrdell Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-10-2004 12:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.