MoBo Recommendation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2007, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default MoBo Recommendation

I'mu currently working on building a computer for everyday use. I next to never play games that require a high performance graphics card. So what I'm asking is I need a MoBo that comes with integrated graphics / audio that will support this CPU . Thanks in advance :happy:
__________________

cmiller01 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

nvm, hold on
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

The only motherboard I could find with onboard graphics is this.
Any comments? suggestions?

I don't want to spend any more than $150.
cmiller01 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmiller01 View Post
The only motherboard I could find with onboard graphics is this.
Any comments? suggestions?

I don't want to spend any more than $150.
See how i said, nvm, hold on? That was because it's was confusing.

The problem I had was to find a motherboard that could have: CPU support, DDR2-800, and onboard graphics.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-G33M-DS2R LGA 775 Intel G33 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
After a lot of research, I'd buy this one.

Here is the selection: Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
The G965 chipset is very peculiar: it only accepts certain types of ram.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newegg
Notice: Only DDR2-800 memory supporting JEDEC approved 1.8V operation with timings of 5-5-5 or 6-6-6 is supported on Intel Desktop Boards based on Intel 965 Express Chipsets.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

Thanks alot Peter for your help and sorry for not being clear =\. This project will be my first build. Here's a list of my components:
RAIDMAX Smilodon Extreme Black ATX-612WEB - Case
Barracuda 250GB 7200 RPM - Hard Drive
Sony NEC Optiarc 18X DVD±R DVD Burner - DVDROM
Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 Allendale 1.8GHz LGA 775 Processor - CPU (I changed my mind from my previous post)
OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) - RAM

And for the motherboard I'll go with your suggestion , or this one:

GIGABYTE GA-965G-DS3 LGA 775 Intel G965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

The reason for my choice is that I don't know what type of problems i'll run into trying to install that micro atx into my full size case.

So what do you think?
cmiller01 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

The OCZ ram won't work with that mobo. It'll work on the one that I recommended though. The new Core 2 Duo you picked out is great, but it's out of stock. Up it a little to this: Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 Allendale 2.0GHz 2M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 06:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

What are the key specifications I should be looking for in memory to fit the mobo I picked out? DDR2-800 , 240 Pin, 5-5-5 timing, JDEC approved?
cmiller01 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 07:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmiller01 View Post
What are the key specifications I should be looking for in memory to fit the mobo I picked out? DDR2-800 , 240 Pin, 5-5-5 timing, JDEC approved?
Pretty much that, and it also has to be 1.8V
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 07:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

Thanks again Peter for everything. You've been of enormous help!
cmiller01 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 07:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: MoBo Recommendation

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmiller01 View Post
Thanks again Peter for everything. You've been of enormous help!
Go with your mobo, looks great.

Here's the JEDEC ram: Newegg.com - A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.