Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2012, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

It's been a while, and I've fallen out of the loop on PC tech.

My current specs are

Quote:
Mobo:
Abit LG-95

CPU:
Intel E2160 Dual Core @ 1.80 GHz

RAM:
1gb DDR2-666
2gb DDR2-800

GPU:
GeForce GT 440 (1gb Vidya mem.)

PSU
Rosewill RP500-2 500W
Obviously my RAM and CPU are the major things that I need to upgrade, but I'm limited by the outdated motherboard. Any suggestions? I'm not looking for crazy power, but I'd like to increase my gaming ability.
__________________

Thorn is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

You are better off getting a new system. We could suggest you a system for around ~350.

Your memory limit is 2GB. There is not many CPU's available that you can upgrade to.

What is your budget?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

Why a new system when all I need to do is replace a few things?

Pretty decent video card, little more ram/better cpu and I'm good to go. I just can't upgrade either without a motherboard upgrade.

I'm not going to do this right now, so there isn't really a budget. I'm just looking at what my options are.
Thorn is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

Well, in order to move to a new board, you have to reinstall Windows. And if you go up to 4GB of RAM, you will need a x64 version of Windows. Or it will only see 3.5GB. You running XP, Vista or 7?

The reason for a new setup, is to future-proof yourself. The current stuff is somewhat cheaper than what you are getting now. You can get the most current stuff. Besides, the 775 line is all but dead. DDR2 is harder to find at a competitive price. You could be paying $40 or more for 4GB, when with DDR3, you can buy 8GB for $40.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

A reinstall is the least of my worries. Half an hour and I'm back in business. I'm running 7. And a switch to x64 doesn't really bother me at this point.

I understand where you're coming from, I just don't see how I would have to replace anything other than the mobo, ram, and cpu. Everything else still works.
Thorn is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorn View Post
I'm not going to do this right now, so there isn't really a budget. I'm just looking at what my options are.
Options are pretty much what they've always been, AMD or Intel.

AMD's new offering is the FX line (FX-41##/61##/81##), which reviews I've read are pretty "meh", you may be better off budget-wise going with their previous generation Phenom II X4 or X6 CPUs.

Intel has the Sandy Bridge chips out now which are excellent, though more pricey than AMD as usual, and is expected to drop their next generation Ivy Bridge sometime in May.

RAM wise either setup will use DDR3, its just a matter of how much you want (can get 8GB for <$50).
For a motherboard, its all about what features you want/need.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

Well, Even an i3 2100 will do circles around his E2160..

Anything you can upgrade your current system to will be minimal.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

I've always wanted to play with AMD. Seems like better bang for your buck in a sense. And I'm under the impression that I would have no problem using my current GPU with an AMD mobo.

I didn't realize RAM was so cheap now. Awesome.
The motherboard is the tricky part. I need 5.1 for the sound, and at least 1 IDE HDD connection. Other than that, pretty much anything goes I think. I'm currently using onboard sound, and only have one video card.
Thorn is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorn View Post
I've always wanted to play with AMD. Seems like better bang for your buck in a sense. And I'm under the impression that I would have no problem using my current GPU with an AMD mobo.

I didn't realize RAM was so cheap now. Awesome.
The motherboard is the tricky part. I need 5.1 for the sound, and at least 1 IDE HDD connection. Other than that, pretty much anything goes I think. I'm currently using onboard sound, and only have one video card.
Not exactly. The FX line is seriously meh when it comes to performance.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: Mobo/RAM/CPU upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Well, Even an i3 2100 will do circles around his E2160..

Anything you can upgrade your current system to will be minimal.
With my current system, yes. But with the replacement of the motherboard, the entire system changes and can be better changed. The GPU is good enough for a while, it does not warrant an upgrade, for now at least. (Though I would appreciate input as to a good card for the future)


I am currently thinking about this motherboard, this for a RAM boost, short term, and an i5 processor. Thoughts?

It seems I will need to retire my old 500gb IDE drive at some point, but for now I need a solution to allow me to convert the IDE mobo connection to SATA, or get one of the USB ones.
__________________

Thorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU / Mobo / RAM Upgrade Worth It? dark strike1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-30-2010 05:41 AM
LF Mobo, cpu, ram upgrade under 350 turtlenumber13 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-07-2009 10:38 PM
~$200 for cpu, mobo, ram upgrade dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 02-17-2008 05:00 PM
Upgrade RAM or CPU/MOBO? XP>>64 Ace No-Money Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-03-2005 11:16 AM
Upgrade RAM or CPU/MOBO? XP>>64 Ace No-Money Overclocking and Modding 3 02-01-2005 10:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.