mobo prob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2005, 07:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default mobo prob

hi all,

i recently purchased a mobo and CPU and im having problems installing it. ive seen it workin at a mates house so i know it worked.

asus k8v se deluxe
3.4 athlon 64 and heatsink
radeon 9800 pro
1 gig pc3200
400 PSU

i think i may hav blown the darn thing lol.... 1st time i tried to boot nothing happened doh, upon closer inspection i noticed i had 1 of those jumper thing me bobs for led's, power button etc on the wrong place...doh...i put it right and my comp booted and beeped like a so n so. ok i had to go back and check those jumper thing me bobs again,i did that then rebooted. i got to dos and it said i hadnt a keyboard or mouse plugged in, they were.anyway i hit the reset button....hmmmm..... and now when i boot im not getting to dos.there is definatly power goin to the mobo as the fans are working but thats it.

anybody plz gimmie some advice plz. ( lol the best advice is prolly not to do these things myself )

oh lol i phoned pcworld 2 ask about them having a look but they wanted 70quid and i thought bollox ill try n sort this myself and if worst comes to worst i will just buy a new mobo. wot im most concerned about is the CPU


shadowlord is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 10:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4

lol no replies ... come on sum1 !!!!!!!!

shadowlord is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847

dude we can't respond because that makes no sence....thingy bobs?
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 11:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4

yer right lol thing me bobs = PLED , PWRBTN , RESET , HDLED. those connector things from inside the pc that u connect to the mobo.

i connected these to the mobo yer but messed it up, i thought i wouldnt b a problem if i got them wrong, just a matter of putting them right.

can u tell im a PC noob? this is why i should of let sum1 else upgrade my comp.

ty for ur reply
shadowlord is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.