Mobo Mounting Holes on Case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2006, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Mobo Mounting Holes on Case

Ok, I have a Raidmax Scorpio868. Its a good case but I recently took out the mobo to upgrade and have a new one coming in the mail. I noticed that a couple (2-3) mounting holes are stripped, not the actual standoffs though. Would it be ok to super glue the standoffs in these holes, when the standoffs are tightened as far as they can? Thanks

silent101 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

The mounts or the actual case holes?

It will be OK as long as the glue does not get in contact with the motherboard.

turtile is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 01:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

Just use 16-penny nails and a 16-ounce framing hammer.

That's a joke, son.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 02:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

Originally posted by Trotter
Just use 16-penny nails and a 16-ounce framing hammer.

I tried something like that before but found that a 4lb sledge work's better :freak:

Anyway's my old case had a couple that were stripped and i just used a glue gun,Just dab a little on the stand off thread's and screw it in
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

Thanks for the help, figured it would be ok as long as it was not near the mobo.
silent101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.