MOBO install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2010, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default MOBO install

Just a quicky, but do you have to re-intall your OS again after you have put a new mobo in your PC?
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: MOBO install

If it's not a definite "yes you have to", then you really should anyway.
__________________

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: MOBO install

It will probably be necessary unless you prep your HDD beforehand with the proper chipset/motherboard drivers for the new motherboard.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: MOBO install

Sometimes. If it's the exact same model then no. If I'm upgrading to a new mobo I usually just un-install all the drivers before I swap them out and then I usually don't need to re-install the OS. But sometimes you just don't have a choice.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: MOBO install

Just one more question, I have never put a new mobo in my PC, so is there anything I will have to apart from putting it in the PC and attach all the RAM etc. correctly to get iot working or as long as I put the cpu etc. in the correct places it will work fine (assuming I do a fresh reintall of my OS)?
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: MOBO install

install proper drivers... make sure to use thermal paste/gel.... but yeah should fire right up
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: MOBO install

Read your manual.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: MOBO install

Make sure all the stand-offs line up with a screw hole on the mobo.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean install of OS X 10.4 using upgrade disc(10.3 not installed on system) shortstop20 Apple and Mac 1 07-08-2009 01:38 AM
Install Guest Additions for a better VirtualBox experience Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-17-2009 08:05 AM
Can not install windows. dennykyser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-28-2009 11:41 AM
Install Linux on a USB drive with UNetbootin Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 12-16-2008 06:11 PM
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.