Mobo/HDD question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default Mobo/HDD question

If I upgrade my Motherboard/Processor, will my Hard Drives have to be formatted? If so, can any information be saved?

I was thinking about this to keep my current AGP and update to PCI-E later.
__________________

JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66
Default

Yes, all your files wont be there anymore.
__________________

__________________
Amd Sempron 2500+
ECS K7VTA3 mobo
1 gig Ram
Asus N6600
Antec 300 Watt PSU
19\" LCD
Logitech Mouse & Keyboard
Antec SOHO sx1030 Server
FunkMaster66 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Is there anyway to save them, such as backing them up onto another hard drive and them transferring them back to the original?
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

yes, when u format, everything will be gone. However, u can back up any files you wish to keep by burning them onto DVDs or transfering them to a different HDD, taht you do not plan on formatting, before you format. Just to be safe, you should take out the HDD with the backup files before you format then after your os is up, u can put in that hdd and copy the files off.
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Can I copy the entire C:/ Drive in one go, or would I have to copy every single folder in C:.
JiveTurkey is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

not sure, some system files may not be copied and so u wont be able to select the whole thing. Explore C: and secect all folders and right clik and copy then paste onto the back up hdd, might work. U shouldnt copy your HDD. just files you want (mp3, video...) and like mabey program setting files. If thers too many things u need to think of them all, u can try to copy the whole C: (excluding the WINDOWS folder if u arent allowed to copy the entire thing) then just copy things onto your fresh windows as you need them
__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.