Mobo/gpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2009, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Mobo/gpu

One question since my 6150 LE is intergrated I heard that if it is I need to take out MOBO to take out card does that affect anything while putting in my HD 4670?
__________________

iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

...what? The integrated video can't be taken out mate. Normally, a dedicated video card makes the mobo default to that, but you should check it in the BIOS to set it to PCI-E instead of IGP.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

So your saying I just um leave the Intergrated card there and just install the new 1? if not guide me plz I dont want this to mess up I wanna play games without lag.
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

Well, you'll know if the dedicated card is working, because you won't get any video if you're plugged into the new card and it isn't working. I would just check out the BIOS to see what options they have about default GFX.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

Integrated = part of the motherboard, built in.

You can turn it off via the BIOS, but it can't be taken out.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Integrated = part of the motherboard, built in.

You can turn it off via the BIOS, but it can't be taken out.
QFT.......unless you break out your soldering iron...you wont be able to remove the integrated video because it is hardwired to the motherboard (usually on the rear IO panel with the sound and usb and serial ports)
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 02:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by ComatoseClown View Post
QFT.......unless you break out your soldering iron...you wont be able to remove the integrated video because it is hardwired to the motherboard (usually on the rear IO panel with the sound and usb and serial ports)
Well the integrated video is often hardwired into the chipset.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 07:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default

So I can still Install the new card I just leave the intergrated card there right?

Btw, how do I go to then BIOS to turn it off btw, I'm on Vista.
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 10:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

It depends on your motherboard, not your operating system. Usually it's something like the del key, F1 or F2. It should say when you boot up.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 04:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Mobo/gpu

lololol i cant get to the bios i tried all u said hikari didnt work

besides turning it off through bios once I turn it off i wont have problems with other card right? LOOK DOWN THERE


*EDIT EDIT EDIT* Ok nvm I got to the Bios so there were couple options and none of them sound like graphics card so then there was on that sad Primary video so I clicked that and it said this:

PCI..........[ ]
PCI-E.......[ ]
Onboard........ [ ]

so I thought I was supposed to click on onboard to shut down my 6150 but i was scared so I came here lol.
__________________

iceyc0ld is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics card question jamie8dc New Systems | Building and Buying 12 12-28-2008 02:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.