Mobo for dodgy Desktop. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2007, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

Okay, im sick of not having a PCI-E slot and having to find a PCI video card. I know that half of you will freak out when i tell you what pc i want to upgrade because its probably the least 'workable' desktop ever.

Dell Dimension 1100

:freak:

So, now what i want is help from this amazing community. Is there a motherboard that can take a Pentium 4 CPU (2.8ghz) but has the ability to be upgraded later on for a Core 2 Duo/Quad?

The reason is im trying to keep all the components of the current setup, then when i have money, upgrade. The only exception to this is ram, i use ddr1 ram so im going to have to buy ddr2 and a new powersupply. Sound isnt to important either so im happy with an onboard sound card.

Id like it to be from the following parts list but if there is nothing there im happy for other help:

http://www.msy.com.au/Parts/PARTS.pdf

Thank you all. :happy:
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

abit ip35-e...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 01:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

Awesome board, just to clarify, theres nothing on that list that meets my requirements?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

so, your wanting to put that mobo in your dell case? if so its not hapening, dell produce all their cases and mobos so they are not of ATX or MATX standard
Nick is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

O how nice of them. Anyway i figured out it was cheaper just to make a new pc. Quad core time... lol.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 05:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

good idea
Nick is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 05:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

scrap the dell and build a new pc for sure
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-26-2007, 07:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mobo for dodgy Desktop.

selling always works.. :0
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Readies Desktop Penryn Models maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-30-2007 01:50 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Google Desktop Goes Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-06-2007 01:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.