Mobo/CPU upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2009, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Mobo/CPU upgrade?

Would it be worthwhile to get these upgrades:

Newegg.com - ASUS M4A78 Plus AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

and

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops

Current Config:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit
MSI K9A2 CF-F AM2+/AM2 AMD
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 and G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Sony NEC Optiarc 20X DVDĪR DVD Burner Black IDE Model
Cooler Master CM 690 Case
Seagate 500GB HD
Ultra V-Series 500W PSU (+12V, 28A)
Windows Vista 64 bit SP1
__________________

M4A1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Mobo/CPU upgrade?

Well, it would work, that's for sure.

Though I would recommend getting a 790GX chipset, it really depends on how much money you have to spend.

This is my board recommendation: Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX 128M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Re: Mobo/CPU upgrade?

Ok thanks, that board looks good too.

Now, my question is - do I go for the Phenom II 3-core or 4-core? I'm aware of the price difference, but is there any practical reasoning to beyond 3 cores at the moment?
M4A1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Mobo/CPU upgrade?

Four cores is good for multitasking you could say. But personally, I own the x3 720 and it's great for everything I do, and I multitask the crap out of it.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Re: Mobo/CPU upgrade?

Comparing my first mobo choice and the one you mentioned hikari, is there any advantage (backing up the price increase) for switching to the 790GX?

Also, is there any reason for me to update my mobo anyway? From my MSI K9A2 to Newegg.com - ASUS M4A78 Plus AM3&#47;AM2&#43;&#47;AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

I don't plan on overclock too much, just using it for TF2/CoD.
M4A1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 01:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Mobo/CPU upgrade?

Your current motherboard is not a bad board. Pick up a second 3850 or a 3870 to run in crossfire instead

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100225L Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR4 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: Mobo/CPU upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Yeah really, I mean it's all up to you. Thats a nice cheap route to succeed in what you want.

Depends on your budget though. 790GX definately worth it.

As hikari said, you won't go wrong with the X3, the quad cores do some major multi-tasking though.

For instance on my setup, I run WoW, about 3-4 browsers with 6 tabs each, I fold my GPU and CPU, 4 different messengers, Anti-Virus blah blah blah. Lots more and never hit over 75% and still see 60fps. Though graphics card comes in to play on that as well so.
__________________

__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.